PDA

View Full Version : Scanner problems



tbalazs
04-06-2001, 01:58 PM
Our Acer 640S SCSI scanner won't work. I have tried it in 2 different Win95 PCs with different types of mobo and different PCI/IRQ configs but the same thing results.
Although the SCSI card and scanner are recognized and apparently installed OK in the Device Manager (no conflicts) the PC freezes soon after the scan has started (and the scanner itself doesn't move, although it does its self-test OK when switched on).
One of the PCs on which this happens has a fresh 95 install.
Any ideas gratefully received.
Thanks.
Tony.

Randy_tx
04-06-2001, 02:32 PM
I would suspect that this is a Hardware problem with the scanner itself. Try going to the web site for Acer Scanners....they have a new driver for the scanner it appears for the 640... http://www.acerperipherals.com/drivers/imaging_drivers.html
If that doesnt fix it.......you may have to take it in for service. You are not running any other software when you scan are you? Additionally, you might want to turn off your virus program if you have one running.

------------------
Always wondered where Silicone Valley was...saw a pic of Pamela Anderson...now I know

tjaymadison
04-06-2001, 03:09 PM
Is the scanner new? Most of them ship with some kind of locking mechanism that must be released before use. Are your SCSI terminations configured correctly? Sorry if this too basic, don't know your level of experience. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Randy_tx
04-06-2001, 03:53 PM
If it's new........then TJ hit a homer http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

------------------
I'm putting a new Fat32 partition in my Head Drive...hope it speeds me up.......

tbalazs
04-06-2001, 04:14 PM
Thanks for the feedback. I *did* have the scanner working a few months ago but then stopped using it, so the locking mechanism is actually disengaged - so that's not the answer http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif
But it's still under warranty, so back to base might be best. I will try those drivers though.
Tony.

tbalazs
04-06-2001, 04:16 PM
Uh, forgot to mention the termination. What termination? I know that SCSI normally uses it but I didn't have any there when I had it working briefly before. Could it be a self-terminating machine?
Tony.