PDA

View Full Version : Maxtech K6 changing errors



melanieinparis
05-03-2001, 03:28 PM
I have a maxtech K6 333 notebook which has mutiple error messagessince Oct last year. It blocks up suddenly, creates longfile names, various error messages, automatically reboots, each time is different.
I have reformatted the harddisk and put on only Windows 98, Office, and Mcafee...no help. I changed the memory...no help. I tried to take it to a shop in Paris...no one will look at it. The manufacturer has disappeared (returned emails and disconnected phone lines).
On a recent trip back to the US, I returned to the store where I bought it, but they found nothing wrong with the hard drive (running diagnostic tests)so they simply reformatted the disk and reloaded the software (this time I only have all English software) and changed out the memory to the original type in the computer.
Two days after I arrived, the computer blocked up and wouldn't complete scan disk. After several attempts, I booted up and discovered all the program links were invalid i.e. no programs lists in start menu although the programs can be found in the c: drive. Outlook Express loads like it's the first time with all email gone. I ran scandisk from within Windows and there was a big lost file fragment that I recovered but now my c: drive is full of dir0000s and file checks.
Any suggestions?

bassvax
05-03-2001, 04:05 PM
Could the power difference between the US & France be the problem? Also, during transit was there any possibility of the system being near a magnetic field or X-ray source?

Edit: After doing some more digging I found that you are not alone in your quest for technical assistance from this company. Here is are a couple of excerpts from a July 97 PC World review of one Maxtech machine:

Maxtech YesBook X753 Plus
Pro: Very good performer, high-speed infrared port
Con: Poor support, speakers could be better

Maxtech's YesBook X753 Plus is best fit for the corporate mold, mostly because the company's tech support policies are so restrictive that many home users will find them unacceptable: You get a one-year warranty, no on-site service, technical support only during weekday business hours (and it's not toll-free).

We have too little reader input to comment on Maxtech's support record or how reliable its notebooks are. But we can tell you that this company is tough to reach: It once took us a day and a half to get a call back. When we finally spoke with a representative, he didn't attempt to diagnose our problem; he just told us bring the notebook in for service.


http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif Sorry this is not more help...hang in there stilling scrounging http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

BTW-Welcome to the PC Guide http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
savoire faire ist everywhere...

[This message has been edited by bassvax (edited 05-03-2001).]

[This message has been edited by bassvax (edited 05-03-2001).]

mjc
05-03-2001, 04:35 PM
Carry-on or baggage? Pressurized or non?

Xray, metal detector, or other scanning device?

What airline?

Any or all of the above could have an impact on the reliability of the data on the hard drive, and of course if you are running the AC/charger through a universal international adapter that could have a serious impact on the machine.

------------------
mjc
Links list:Computer Links (http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/highrise/11/index.htm)

melanieinparis
05-04-2001, 04:35 AM
It was carry-on baggage with Delta airline and was put through the x-ray machine. It is a regular currency adapter. However, I'm skeptical that these have really caused the problems since it's the same problem that I was trying to fix before I left. I've been in Europe for 4 years using the adapter with two different notebooks and no problems including the first year with this one. The computer was also fine for the first two days after my return. This is the second time the hard disk was reformatted. The first time the computer appeared normal for about a week. I really think it has to be something else, but I have no idea what? Thanks so much for helping.


Originally posted by mjc:
Carry-on or baggage? Pressurized or non?

Xray, metal detector, or other scanning device?

What airline?

Any or all of the above could have an impact on the reliability of the data on the hard drive, and of course if you are running the AC/charger through a universal international adapter that could have a serious impact on the machine.

melanieinparis
05-04-2001, 04:37 AM
It was carry-on baggage with Delta airline and was put through the x-ray machine. It is a regular currency adapter. However, I'm skeptical that these have really caused the problems since it's the same problem that I was trying to fix before I left. I've been in Europe for 4 years using the adapter with two different notebooks and no problems including the first year with this one. The computer was also fine for the first two days after my return. This is the second time the hard disk was reformatted. The first time the computer appeared normal for about a week. I really think it has to be something else, but I have no idea what? Thanks so much for helping.


Originally posted by bassvax:
Could the power difference between the US & France be the problem? Also, during transit was there any possibility of the system being near a magnetic field or X-ray source?

Edit: After doing some more digging I found that you are not alone in your quest for technical assistance from this company. Here is are a couple of excerpts from a July 97 PC World review of one Maxtech machine:

Maxtech YesBook X753 Plus
Pro: Very good performer, high-speed infrared port
Con: Poor support, speakers could be better

Maxtech's YesBook X753 Plus is best fit for the corporate mold, mostly because the company's tech support policies are so restrictive that many home users will find them unacceptable: You get a one-year warranty, no on-site service, technical support only during weekday business hours (and it's not toll-free).

We have too little reader input to comment on Maxtech's support record or how reliable its notebooks are. But we can tell you that this company is tough to reach: It once took us a day and a half to get a call back. When we finally spoke with a representative, he didn't attempt to diagnose our problem; he just told us bring the notebook in for service.


http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif Sorry this is not more help...hang in there stilling scrounging http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

BTW-Welcome to the PC Guide http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

mjc
05-04-2001, 09:30 AM
Have you tried running scandisk from DOS?

Hit <ctrl> or <f8> while booting, (after POST/ BISD logo before WIndows logo) and select command prompt from the menu. Then type scandisk at the prompt.



------------------
mjc
Links list:Computer Links (http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/highrise/11/index.htm)

tjaymadison
05-04-2001, 09:50 AM
Do you have updated virus sofware, and a firewall? Does anyone else have access to your laptop? This almost smacks of sabotage, or at best a malicious prank. Remote maybe, but possible. If you've got a bunch of .CHK files again, I don't think you'll ever get back to 'ground zero'. Not sure if Scanreg or even Peter Norton himself can fix that. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif

------------------
"When I nod my head, hit it with the hammer."
-- (Moe, holding nail, to Curly, holding hammer)

melanieinparis
05-08-2001, 12:29 PM
Originally posted by tjaymadison:
Do you have updated virus sofware, and a firewall? Does anyone else have access to your laptop? This almost smacks of sabotage, or at best a malicious prank. Remote maybe, but possible. If you've got a bunch of .CHK files again, I don't think you'll ever get back to 'ground zero'. Not sure if Scanreg or even Peter Norton himself can fix that. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif



Well, I had another block up and damanaged programs. Now, once again I've reloaded Windows, OFfice and McAfee with now a firewall (due to your suggestions). I have internet access via cable but am occasionally unplugging it to see if that changes anything. So far no difference. I'm the only one with access to this computer. It's a laptop, but it acts like a desktop and usually never leaves the desk (unless trying to get it repaired). For another point of view let's eliminate problems concerning the software, hard disk, memory, or sabotage. But where does that leave me? What do you think about when the computer just automatically reboots? What could cause that? Circuits? What should I check next?
Thanks again for thinking about it.