PDA

View Full Version : **Part 2**



sea69
03-14-2001, 12:00 PM
ok here we are ...>>>>

------------------
"Remember your 'unique'... just like everyone else!"

sea69
03-14-2001, 12:22 PM
ok.. to continue.. while trying from "C:\>" prompt (following previous instructions carefully) there is no "msbatch.inf" on his C drive.

** there are , however some other interesting looking files..

would now be the time to try the compaq "Quick Restore" disk again??



[This message has been edited by sea69 (edited 03-14-2001).]

Ghost_Hacker
03-14-2001, 12:36 PM
Hmmmmm...Without knowing what his key is we're stuck. The problem with OEM installations is they use scripts to mass install 100s of computers. It would take time to figure out just how anyone OEM install works. And on a Compaq it will not be easy. We have 3 choices.

1. Pray that the recovery disk can be used to recover a OS install.

2. Delete the windows directory and "sys" the hard drive with the Startup disk and start over again.(could cause problems with the old "DMI data pool error". Belive me you don't want to go there.)


3. format and reinstall.

I would try all 3,in order, but only because I'm a glutton for punishment http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif



------------------
"It's just a whisper in my Ghost"

sea69
03-14-2001, 12:42 PM
lmao.. !!

so does that mean to 'pop' in the "Quick Restore" cd ??

and give it a go ??

Ghost_Hacker
03-14-2001, 12:49 PM
Sure....




------------------
"It's just a whisper in my Ghost"

BigBlue66
03-14-2001, 01:15 PM
Cross your fingers everybody! The saga continues. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

BB 66

Ghost_Hacker
03-14-2001, 01:44 PM
At last I've found some Compaq documentation.

The Quick restore cd should be able to restore a system to it's "factory defaults" including partitioning the drive and reinstalling preinstalled apps and operating system.



------------------
"It's just a whisper in my Ghost"

sea69
03-14-2001, 02:39 PM
hehe ok.. I finally broke down and called COMPAQ....

did fdisk, reformated C, ran un"Quick Retore"...... wiped the entire HD...... came to the conclusion that HD was fried.....resolution...... he is sending me a brand new 30gig HD, and new 'Quick Restore' disks, (free..).. and in 2 to 5 days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

lol.. it pays to be nice to these people on the phone!!!

(its not even my pc, and there is no warranty)... !!!

it wasn't even purchased from compaq.. it was purchased from a pc company that is licensed by compaq to build and slap a "Compaq™" name sticker on it....LOL

so there I am>>>>>>>>>>> thanks sooooooooo much to all that have been putting up w/ my ineptitude.. hehe http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

will advise when it arrives!!!!!!

** I must add.. the tech was very knowledgeable and courteous.. and knew precisely what he was doing...(hope he isn't reading THIS)



[This message has been edited by sea69 (edited 03-14-2001).]

Ghost_Hacker
03-14-2001, 02:46 PM
I take back all the bad things I said about Compaq http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

------------------
"It's just a whisper in my Ghost"

mjc
03-14-2001, 07:52 PM
I won't take them all back because if they put their BIOS where everyone else does then this wouldn't have been a problem, right Sea? If I ever buy a Compaq desktop somebody should just drop it on my head for being so stupid......

------------------
mjc
I'm making my own links list:Computer Links (http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/highrise/11/index.htm)

sea69
03-14-2001, 08:07 PM
well now in case I ever need to do it, I know how ....

I bought mine as an impulse buy.. had a few $k in my pocket (literally), looked like a good deal T-Bird , good price and all, and thus far I have been very fortunate with mine.. no problems at all.

**but I wouldn't buy another one** http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

[This message has been edited by sea69 (edited 03-14-2001).]

Paleo Pete
03-15-2001, 06:23 AM
1. Why wasn't an emergency rescue disk for virus scanner tried? If I remember correctly it was suggested.

2. The BIOS is stored on the hard drive, or part of it, but formatting is not a problem. The Compaq restore disk recreates the partition and puts the BIOS back there. That's why when dealing with Compaq machines you always use the restore disk, not another win98 CD. Been there, done that...all this booting to a start up disk and editing files should not have been necessary. Format the thing, boot to a win98 start up disk, run the restore disk. I hate the things, but they do work...anyway, the restore disk will completely recreate the partitions, copy the BIOS, and install windows and all other applications. That's the full restore though, not the quick restore.

Guess all this is too late, but this topic wasn't even here when I checked the last time, or maybe I missed it...had to reboot and had no idea which topics were new, so maybe I just didn't look far enough...interesting topic though...

OK now I know why. After posting and looking at the original topic again I found out it was posted after I went offline yesterday morning. Haven't been online since then...

------------------
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines!
Note: Please post your questions on the forums, not in my email.

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

[This message has been edited by Paleo Pete (edited 03-15-2001).]

sea69
03-15-2001, 06:54 AM
hehe Pete... you are correct.. and to think, all the knowledge in your noggin....

had 15 people from 10 different countries working on this ....must admit it was interesting... and YES... that's why they do not send a win98 (or any OS cd) along with a new system.. it's all takin care of by the Quick Restore disk...

(now if the HD or the QR-disk is bad you are out of luck, and need to get new ones from Compaq.. but as was demonstrated.. even compaq techs can be cool about things.. (or ignorant but nice) http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
"Remember your 'unique'... just like everyone else!"

Ghost_Hacker
03-15-2001, 10:06 AM
Yep...after finally finding some Compaq documents. I discovered that the install 98 cab files are located on the hard drive and setup can be run from there. And as Pete has mentioned there is the "full restore" that returns a Compaq back to it's factory defaults.

It seems that the newer compaqs do put their BIOS where everyone else does.(OK I think it's only a few of the Athlon ones, but it's start)
And the old ones where the BIOS is keep on the "D" drive can be restored from a quick restore disk.


By doing things the hard way I have once again added to my knowledge base. However since I would never buy a Compaq I don't think I'll ever get to use my new found know how. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
"It's just a whisper in my Ghost"



[This message has been edited by Ghost_Hacker (edited 03-15-2001).]