PDA

View Full Version : Disabled Virtual Memory?!?!?!?



abjr65ca
06-04-2002, 10:11 PM
I'm running Win ME on a P3 450, with 384megs RAM. Do I really need "Virtual Memory" or can I disable it? http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

old_kid
06-08-2002, 09:36 PM
Right click On "my computer" Icon

Select "performance" tab

Select "Virtual Memory" Tab

Select "let me specify my own virtual memory settings"

Select "Disable Virtual memory"

But note NOT RECOMMENDED!!

------------------
Good Judgement comes from Experience - Experience comes from Bad Judgement - but bad judgement is more fun!!

Paleo Pete
06-09-2002, 12:03 AM
With win 98 and 256MB RAM my machine still normally uses around 45-50MB swap file most of the time, with 384MB it might use less, but I would not recommend disabling virtual memory.



------------------
If your nose runs and your feet smell...
You're built upside down!
Note: Please post your questions on the forums, not in my email.

Computer Information Links (http://www.dreamwater.com/paleopete/computer.htm) has been moved, please update your bookmarks.

mjc
06-09-2002, 01:23 AM
There are certain applications that actually require the use of a swapfile (virtual memory)...some games come to mind. Windows can live without it, given enough physical RAM to play with, but those other apps can't.

If you want to make it as small as possible, don't go under about 60MB...

------------------
mjc
Computer Links (http://www.dreamwater.org/tech/mjc/index.htm)

Celts are the men that heaven made mad, For all their battles are merry and their songs are all sad.