PDA

View Full Version : Problem with internet!!! plz help!!



htn78
11-02-2000, 05:53 PM
Couple days ago, i posted a subject about my computer and i'm being told that i need more memory. Now my computer is a P3 733MHZ And i just put in a 256SDRAM memory in it. So it suppose to be supper fast now right? But whenever i connect to the internet, for some reason the internet is run-pause-run on me. Anybody have better idea??? Please note that the same ISP ran just great on my other computer. Somebody plz help!!!

IndianaWoody
11-17-2000, 02:11 PM
Well, I am by no means an expert on this board, but if you have 256meg of mem I sure wouldnt think you would need more for the internet. If you ISP worked fine on your old system, maybe there are some settings in the new modem that are different. I really wouldnt know how to tell you to change them, I have used a program called modem wizard that seemed to help, but you may be able to get more information from some of the people on the boards. You may call your isp and see if they have any suggestions, how much help they can be will depend on who you happen to get on the phone though. If you want anymore information on the modem wizard drop me an e-mail. It wouldnt take long form me to tell you what I know http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Paleo Pete
11-18-2000, 03:06 AM
Check in Device Manager and see if it says you have a winmodem, LT winmodem, HSF or HCF modem.

Those types use your CPU instead of a processor on the modem itself to do the work, and they slow the system down and act erratically. Most newer machines come with winmodems because they're cheaper, so the company gets maximum dollars for minimum computer. These days they are often called PCI modems, since winmodems have gotten a bad name, that's to fool consumers into buying them unknowingly.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)