PDA

View Full Version : Photoimpact 6 stops responding



gemini_star
04-02-2001, 02:46 PM
I have installed Photoimpact 6 onto my computer, OS windows 98, 96mb ram. Occasionally I am able to use it, but mostly it loads fine, I create the first frame of an animation and when I try to save it or carry out some other task such as crop etc the program freezes. When I then use ctrl alt delete, it shows PhotoImpact 6 not responding. It seems odd that it will work on rare occasions, and once it does actually save a frame it continues usually for a full animation. I have tried disabling all other programs so that it has maximum memory but this seems to make no difference, even running mem turbo so that I can actually see I have at least 32mb memory makes no difference. Has anyone any idea as it is driving me mad! I had the same problem when I tried the trial download of PhotoImpact 6. When I downloaded a patch (from Uleads website for Pi6)which I thought might help I then received an error message, Iedit caused an overflow error in module U32BASE.DLL ct 0177:4a 00d20p. Has anyone, any ideas??? I have had no success with Ulead support.

sea69
04-02-2001, 03:19 PM
Hi

I can see where your frustration lies.. 99% of the "help"- links on their site do not go anywhere.

They also are supposed to have a "Forum" for this particular product which doesn't exist. (at least I- couldn't access it)

there is- however this (http://www.ulead.com.tw/ulead/tech/suppform.cfm), tech support page. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

If you have paid for this, then you should get them to help you to get it working.

Since you already have checked the amount of available ram, thats why I say this ..

------------------
**puff**.. "Put that thing out boy.. the Sheriff's a comin'!!"

gemini_star
04-02-2001, 04:33 PM
Hi Sea69, thanks for that, but in desperation I emailed the tech site over a week ago. I had one reply that simply said "does it happen everytime". I replied again and have heard nothing since. Like you, I couldn't find the forum for the product. It's more annoying as I liked the program (well the odd occasion it worked) and found it easier than Paint shop pro 7 to use, the easier the better for me lol. Thanks for taking the time to reply.

gemini_star
04-02-2001, 06:45 PM
http://content.communities.msn.co.uk/isapi/fetch.dll?action=view_photo&ID_Community=THEASSYLUMFORCRAZYPEEPS

sea69
04-02-2001, 10:04 PM
oh..so you had already tried that page ??

sorry, I can't stand people that won't "Stand Behind" thier work!!

(lol- doesn't everyone have paint shop pro 7 ) ?? http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

don't give up someone else may reply, or try the chat room here ..

------------------
**puff**.. "Put that thing out boy.. the Sheriff's a comin'!!"

Paleo Pete
04-03-2001, 08:32 AM
I can't think of much, having never used the program. You might check the system requirements, and be sure your CPU is fast enough for it, or try uninstalling and reinstalling it. May have been a flaky install. Reboot after uninstalling.

------------------
So many idiots, and only six bullets...
Note: Please post your questions on the forums, not in my email.

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

gemini_star
04-03-2001, 10:28 AM
Hi, thanks for taking the time to reply Paleo Pete, I have already uninstalled and reinstalled. It was strange as after first reinstalling it worked fine for a couple of animations and then started not responding again. If you get past the first frame save, it does the rest! I have used scandisk, Dr Watson, tried fix it utilities and used the program without anything else running to no avail. The information with the program says I have enough system requirements to run it, guess I will just have to admit defeat on this one before I end up bald lol. Thanks anyway http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

Paleo Pete
04-04-2001, 08:03 AM
Try using [Ctrl] [Alt] [Del] ONCE to shut down everything running in the background. If you can get the program to run stably, then try shutting down all but one application at a time, and see if you can sort out whether one particular program doesn't get along with Photoimpact. Something is either fighting with it for memory, or not releasing memory is what it sounds like to me.

I can't find anything on this error message, but I did find that an overflow error in general means the computer tried to handle a number too large for it. Sometimes this is also related to a divide by zero issue, depends on the error message...

------------------
So many idiots, and only six bullets...
Note: Please post your questions on the forums, not in my email.

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)