View Full Version : Bigtime scam, might wanna spread the word
Anubis
07-23-2002, 10:28 PM
Turns out an old scammer has reared its ugly head again. This is a nimrod who offerred outlandish and non-existant crap on his site for sale. Well after he got ratted out on dslreports.com and many many many users harassed the livin bejeebers out of him he sunk low is at it again. The address is http://www.world-core.com . Here are the computers he has to sell(only 2):
Desktop: 350 bucks
Intel Pentium 4 - (2.4GHz) 2MB Cache Processor / 3GB (2x1500 MB) installed memory / 120GB hard drive / CDRW / Windows XP Professional Desktop Computer
Laptop: 500 bucks
Mobile Intel Pentium 4 - (1.80GHz) 512KB L2 Cache Processor / 1024 MB installed memory / 68GB Hard Drive / 14.1" / Win XP Professional Notebook
Check out the bottom of his webpage: "Not responsible for typographical, technical, descriptive or photographic errors of products herein"
Also the glossary was ripped word for word from another site, I'll find it when I get the chance.
sea69
07-23-2002, 11:35 PM
so are you saying that he does not have these computers for the unrealistically low price that he has listed??
has he in the past actually ripped people off??
:mad:
hmm some of those guys over at dslreports are really sharp, I wouldn't want to have them after me!
what I can't understand is the thinking behind this type scam.... it really is not worth the small amount of $$ he could possibly make before he gets arrested.
:eek:
Anubis
07-23-2002, 11:58 PM
Alright, you don't think this guys a scam, let's start counting the ways:
1. 2.4G chips have just come into being with my computer builder having them at 430 bucks with fan.
2. 3GIG of RAM? You know how much that would actually cost? And the damned thing has SDRAM, umm, yeah, sure.
3. Re-read the statement at the bottom of the page, something is fishy.
4. Totally ripped glossary section from another webpage(the trademarked ones are not there, close enough though), http://www.transmeta.com/technology/glossary.html
5. The 64M Matrox card is not possible, it is not made with 64, just 32, http://www.matrox.com/mga/products/mill_g550/home.cfm (desktop) To top it off he lists the same video card for the laptop version. :rolleyes:
6. USB Speakers? With a mobo sound system?????? Ummmm, Im confused (destop)
7. 1024MB RAM in a notebook? Ummmm, sure.
8. 128-Bit 2D GUI-High Performance 3D Engine <--- can someone explain that to me in english please (notebook)
9. Built-in MP3 player with front-side controls that work even when the notebook is powered down. (notebook, personally I prefer the rear middle controls)
Shale I go on?
sea69
07-24-2002, 12:15 AM
I never meant to imply that I thought it was anything but a scam.
;)
I (since posting) have been reading the replies there.. hehe I would almost feel sorry for this guy if he wasn't such a piece of crap.
Anubis
07-24-2002, 12:27 AM
Hahaha, yeah, they are good. I stopped listing things too, I could have poked around more but at least some people will get a good laugh. Not to mention getting the word out is always good.
YODA74
07-24-2002, 07:49 AM
I think eveyone ought to use a fictisious name address and creditcard and keep ordering these systems maybe he'll reilize no one is stupid. Well maybe? I ordered two of each last night see if he can process that he'll be scratchen his head when i get done.
jabarnutcase
07-24-2002, 06:54 PM
Are you guys kidding me???
How could you pass up a deal like that? I just bought ten of each, before he runs out! ;) :D
Dont forget the extended warranty...A steal at 99.00!
vBulletin v3.6.1, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.