PDA

View Full Version : what am I uploading?



Vic 970
08-02-2002, 02:28 PM
I have DU meter running on my desktop, to keep a note of d/l speeds, until now it has shown mostly red when d/l with a little (very little) green or yellow at the bottom.

Today I sent mail which showed a large amount of green as it uploaded, but after the mail had gone, there was still a large amount of green and yellow, so what is uploading as I surf ?

Paul Komski
08-02-2002, 09:04 PM
Hi Vic - Are you running ZA? - it should tell you which programs are active at any time.

Vic 970
08-03-2002, 08:06 PM
just ie & outlook. I think there is a delay on DU meter, if I switch off my modem the meter still shows for a while, I'll keep my eye on it !

Gallaeglagh
08-04-2002, 12:42 PM
Have your run Ad Aware lately?

Vic 970
08-04-2002, 01:07 PM
thanks Gallaeglagh

yes, it comes on straight after boot. (daily)

mjc
08-04-2002, 02:50 PM
It was possibly a connection that did not properly terminate.

Also, has it continued?

Vic 970
08-04-2002, 06:16 PM
mjc.

I haven't uploaded anything since, it may well be as you suggest. there is a constant upload/download as I surf which I suspect is normal?

the one in question was a rather large upload, (e-mail attachment) which continued for some time after the e-mail had gone.

mjc
08-04-2002, 08:34 PM
Yes there is always a small amount of uploading as you are surfing...page requests, acknowledging that packets actully got to where the wer going, negotiating connections, etc.

I suspect that DU meter was either lagging somewhat or a connection wasn't properly terminated, or it didn't tell your machine that it received the entire file.....or a combination of the above.

Mitch Hatfield
08-05-2002, 07:15 AM
Hi again Vic.,

What is a DU meter, please?

Is it the same sort of bar chart that's incoporated in thee ZA icon in my system tray?

I'm just curious - and nosey:)

Vic 970
08-05-2002, 03:56 PM
Hi mitch,

it's a small graphical display, plus a numerical display of upload & download speeds.

http://www.dumeter.com/download.php

I am thinking soon to change my isp & am looking at avg d/l u/l speeds to compare. mine has never been very good.

sea69
08-07-2002, 08:28 PM
who's your ISP?

which OS?

Anubis
08-08-2002, 12:48 AM
Do the following IF you a) are on broadband and b) running a windows OS: follow this link and tweak the system then run the speed tests and see where you stand: http://www.dslreports.com/tweaks

Vic 970
08-08-2002, 01:46 PM
BT openworld

w98se

dial up

Mitch Hatfield
08-09-2002, 07:48 AM
Hi Anubis- and anyone else who may be interested

I followed your link and ran the test.

The results are here, but they don't mean too much to me - are they good, bad or simply indifferent?

http://ny-monitor.dslreports.com/tweak/block:33561cc?service=cable&speed=512K&os=win98SE&via=enternet

As can be seen, I've a 512K cable modem, through an ethernet card, and am running W98SE.

What does anyone think? Are the"tweaks" worth risking, or should I leave well alone?:confused:

Anubis
08-09-2002, 02:07 PM
Vic, not sure what your sending to be honest with you. The last burst of data being sent could be ACK's and session tear down messages.

Mitch, that connection definatly needs to be tweaked BUT to do that you'll have to play in the registry. If your comfortable doing that here are a couple of FAQ answers that might help:

This is for your MTU: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/707

This is for the RWIN:

1. Here is how to do the registry change: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/911

2. To determine your RWIN do the following: at a DOS Prompt type: ping -t -l 1472 -n 50 www.yahoo.com. This will ping yahoo.com with big packets, then take the average ping time and plug it into the formula on this page: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/677

3. Take that value and change it in the registry. Then come back and re-run the tweak, should say that the RWIN is in range. If not tweak a bit more.

RWIN is not an exact number, its relative to latency but getting your RWIN down into range should really help your connection out. Something else to do is do a speed test off the site before you start playing and then afterwards, should see a very nice differance. As an example here is mine:

http://ny-monitor.dslreports.com/tweak/block:487fdbd?service=dsl&speed=1472&os=win98SE&via=pppoA

Anubis
08-09-2002, 08:34 PM
UG, forgot somethin, after you play in the registry make sure to reboot for the change to take effect. And of course back up the registry before tinkering.

Vic 970
08-13-2002, 03:53 PM
what about testing and tweaking a dial up modem?

Anubis
08-14-2002, 06:49 PM
It would not be worth it and you would be facing a moving target. Tweakin depends on mostly consistant latency and you do not have that with most dial-up connections.

Paul Komski
08-14-2002, 07:38 PM
Vic. I still maintain that M$'s Application RM (Resource Meter) gives one more comprehensive troubleshooting information. You can set it up to simultaneously monitor Upload & Download speeds as well as CPU usage and whether or not the swapfile is being accessed; (and other stuff).

One of my earliest posts here related to a poor internet connection with a WinModem on DialUp. At that time RM showed that CPU activity periodically approached 100% whilst D/U-loading stopped. mjc recommended updating the drivers and that cured that problem.

Another thing I have discovered (because I had been blaming my ISP) is how to get more information from pinging. First get your ISP's domain (or IP address) and your own dynamic IP Address by running winipcfg. Ping your ISP and note the data. Then goto http://www.spfld.com/ping.html and from there you can ping both your ISP and yourself from that remote location.

When I did this there were slow connections and lost packets when I pinged ISP and when remote pinged me. But remote pinging ISP was good. Thus I learned that the fault lies between me and my ISP (and not on the ISP's server) - and I now think it may be interference from a neighbour's electric fence! Oh! and turn off ZA before pinging yourself if you want a result! :D

sea69
08-14-2002, 10:22 PM
very cool Paul

;)

Vic 970
08-15-2002, 01:16 PM
thanks paul,

I am changing my isp shortly, so I will do the tests before I do, then again when I change & get a comparison. will let you know the results.

Vic 970
08-15-2002, 03:21 PM
Hi paul,

have run winipcfg, & done a ping on the ip address obtained, with resultant info.


PING 62.7.xx.xx (62.7.xx.xx) from 216.216.32.4 : 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 62.7.xx.xx ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 9 packets received, 10% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/mdev = 460.907/469.969/528.338/20.809 ms

-----------------------------------------

I assume that that is my address? where do I get my isp address?

how do you set up rm?

currently system resources 59% free
user respources 57% free
GDI resources 75% free

no other info.

Paul Komski
08-15-2002, 04:20 PM
He he. You will soon learn that I am an amateur when it comes to networking. I can best explain by an example. My ISP is www.iol.ie and if I ping www.iol.ie I get:-

Pinging www.iol.ie [194.145.128.36] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 194.145.128.36: bytes=32 time=247ms TTL=252
Reply from 194.145.128.36: bytes=32 time=275ms TTL=252
Reply from 194.145.128.36: bytes=32 time=248ms TTL=252
Reply from 194.145.128.36: bytes=32 time=233ms TTL=252

Ping statistics for 194.145.128.36:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 233ms, Maximum = 275ms, Average = 250ms

So I have taken it that the ISP's IP address is 194.145.128.36 I know those aren't great times but they are what I am used to.

Running winipcfg (and then expanding it by clicking MoreInfo) my DNS Server is 194.145.128.1, which correlates with the address for www.iol.ie.

My own IP address for this "dynamic session" is immediately underneath the Adapter Address.

Pinging www.iol.ie from Springfield yields:-
PING www.iol.ie (194.145.128.36) from 216.216.32.4 : 56(84) bytes of data.

--- www.iol.ie ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 8 packets received, 20% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/mdev = 112.454/115.015/119.674/2.412 ms

Which is twice as fast from further away!

But pinging my own IP address from Springfield gives:-
PING 194.145.xxx.xxx (194.145.xxx.xxx) from 216.216.32.4 : 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 194.145.xxx.xxx ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 8 packets received, 20% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/mdev = 354.576/494.461/1365.457/329.474 ms

So, where logically is the slow bit??

The System Monitor may not have been installed (it is filed at C:\WINDOWS\SYSMON.EXE) but can be added from the Windows Setup from Add/Remove Programs if it is not there; it should be available for all versions of Win9x.

Here are a couple of links relating to it.
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/app_info/sysmon.htm
http://homepage.tinet.ie/~leslie/testpage/sysmon.htm

Happy huntin' :D

P.S. When the neighbour's electric fence is on the ping times to my ISP may be 1000 to 2000ms, or cant find the server, or many packets lost. My recent problems started at Easter (which is approx. when the neighbour would have been letting his cattle out into the fields!). Talk about 20/20 vision with hindsight. ;)

I also realise that I had said Resource Meter when I had meant to say System Monitor. Apologies.

Vic 970
08-15-2002, 05:38 PM
interesting,

I have just pinged my own website 10 pkts sent 10 rec 0% loss

then my isp's www.btopenworld.com 100% loss

www.freeserve.com 100% loss

???

Paul Komski
08-15-2002, 07:07 PM
Maybe there's some sort of name resolution. I can't ping them either but I can ping what I think are the btopenworld/btinternet DNS server IP addresses (194.73.73.94 as primary and 194.72.6.57 as secondary). If I find the freeserve ones I will post back. Also you could try the DNS server addresses from winipcfg.

BTW Running tracert doesn't work for btopenworld but gets so far with btinternet and then times out after about 10 hops.

Freeserve numbers are:- Primary DNS 195.92.195.94 Secondary DNS 195.92.195.95

There's also a nice program AnalogX NetStatLive (http://www.webattack.com/freeware/network/fwnetinfo.shtml) that will monitor your connection and cpu and ping and trace remote locations (including any url you copy to clipboard) good readme file and very easy to set up.

Mitch Hatfield
08-15-2002, 08:06 PM
Hi Paul :)

Very interesting to me.

1) How do I "Ping"?

2) Where do you get the DNS numbers from - some sort of look-up prog?

3) Do you know MY DNS number, for example, or could you find if you wanted to?

Regards - and to Vic!

Paul Komski
08-15-2002, 08:24 PM
You ping (or tracert) followed by an IP address from a DOS prompt.

Start<>Run and enter winipcfg to get your DNS server addresses and your own IP address and other networking info.

He he. I went to a webhost that Donna had posted elsewhere http://me.icobb.com/ and if you try to login, it shows you your IP address!! Serendipity or what!! :D

I got Vic's ones by Googling for something like ping freeserve! Not very magical. LOL.

The one thing I haven't been able to fathom yet is TTL (Time To Live) which relates to the life of the pinging - but I don't know how to interpret the results. Any takers?

john5211
08-15-2002, 09:24 PM
Hi guys,

Just to make sure we are on the same page, a DNS lookup is getting an ip address from a name, and a reverse DNS lookup is getting a name from an ip address.

Here (http://www2.hunter.com/~skh/scripts/dnslookup.html) is a site for doing DNS and reverse DNS lookups. If you do a web search, you can find many more. (Actually if you have access to a unix shell you can use nslookup or dig, which can be a little more informative when you try to troubleshoot certain connectivity problems).

Good Luck,

John

PS - Time to Live just specifies the number of times a packet can be transmitted from router to router before it is thrown away. So each time a packet is transmitted, the TTL goes down by one - if the TTL value gets to zero, the packet is discarded.

Mitch Hatfield
08-16-2002, 09:04 AM
Hi again Paul

I came across this www.winfiles.com.

It's Freeware, but I could do better?

It's really just for my interest!

:)

Vic 970
08-16-2002, 03:23 PM
ping results pkts sent - pkts rec

me 10 - 0

bt (primary) 10 - 8
bt (secondary) 10 - 10

freeserve (primary) 10 - 9
freeserve (secondary) 10 - 8

:(

david eaton
08-16-2002, 04:21 PM
A good program for this sort of thing is Sam Spade (http://www.samspade.org/ssw/)
The download is well worth having. I use it frequently checking on visitors to my website.

David

Vic 970
08-16-2002, 05:31 PM
thanks david.

that looks very interesting, I have just d/l it & will install it after w/e & give it a try.:)

sea69
08-16-2002, 08:28 PM
been using old Sam Spade fer years here!!

;)

Paleo Pete
08-17-2002, 07:57 AM
Vic970: Please DO NOT post your entire IP address here or any other website or chat program. The myriad script kiddies/wanna be hackers out there would LOVE to see it...

I changed it, in the future if you ned to post an IP address, use xxx for at least the last set of numbers, I went ahead and changed the second set to, just to be on the safe side.

And yes, that was your IP address. I checked the IP: Logged link, it showed the same IP.

NOTE: For your peace of mind, only forum administrators have access to the IP addresses logged. That means myself, mjc and Ixl. I think this makes the third time in almost 2 years I've checked an IP address, if you want to know how often I use that option...and ONLY if I have a good reason...

Vic 970
08-17-2002, 08:38 AM
Hi Pete,

Yes, I realised how stupid of me it was, (afterwards) and thanks for doing the amendment.