PDA

View Full Version : Newly built computer shuts down

Smooth4evr
08-03-2002, 04:16 PM
Hi, I am new to building computers, but recenlty I put this together:

P4 2.26 GHZ FSB: 533 with an ASUS motherboard supporting the 533 FSB.
512MB DDR RAM(2 sticks of 256). Power supply is an antec 350W.

Ok after I put everything together and started it up for the first time it went into bios and had my processor speed listed 2260. Before I could read anything else the comp just powered down. Although a green light on the motherboard remained on until I unpluggeg the power. There are 2 case fans and one processor fan, all of them were running at the time. Then I proceed to start it up again but this time it goes into this dos mode and I hear this womans voice saying "system completed, poer on self test" after which it promts me for a system disk but seconds later it shuts down once more. It seems it can only stay on for like 20-30 seconds before shutting off. I have not touched a thing in bios, no overclocking, nothing.

Smooth4evr
08-03-2002, 05:59 PM
Ok, I was able to go into bios and check the CPU temp, it was rising and when it hit 58 C and 137 F it shut off, are these normal temps or is there something wrong. Please, I need some help here

mjc
08-03-2002, 06:44 PM
Ok, first off, you motherboard?BIOS is working properly...it is shutting down when the temp gets too high, this is a good thing. Now to figure out why.

58 is not really too high, if you were running under a heavy load, for just starting yes it is. SO either the heatsink is not properly attached or the fan is not doing its job.

When you attached the cooler did you remove the little plastic piece over the thermal pad?

Did you remove the pad and use a heatsink compound?

malcore
08-04-2002, 12:31 AM