PDA

View Full Version : Cable modem configuration



jss58
08-16-2002, 07:58 PM
Besides illegality, what's preventing anyone with Cable TV access whose provider also offers Internet access on its cable to simply purchase a cable modem and configure it with his/her network card to get free broadband access? Isn't it simply a case of splitting the cable into the modem and running an RC45 cable from the modem to the PC's network card?

YODA74
08-16-2002, 08:09 PM
There server will pick up the band width usage and also your IP adress is permanent. so another words They will know when you hook up not only that there is a box on the out side of the house that has the Internet splitter in it.

john5211
08-16-2002, 08:29 PM
In order to prevent people from stealing internet access, most cable companies that offer internet access require you to provision your cable modem (provisioning is kind of like registering, in that it associates the MAC address of the cable modem with the network node it is hooked up to).

For a little more info, look at section 5 of the FAQ (http://www.dslreports.com/faq/cabletech) on cable at DSL Reports.

John