PDA

View Full Version : is this really all I need??



philzee
08-28-2002, 02:45 PM
i have 2 pc's in the house with another one at christmas time....I was planning on linking them all up for some multi-player action for the kids.

I seen this item on a website could you tell me if i would need a hub with it?

networking kit (http://www.diy.com/bq/product/product.jhtml?PRODID=92686&paintCatId=&CATID=12011&maxBullets=999)

thanks in advance

david eaton
08-28-2002, 04:03 PM
Hi Philzee. The kit you showed is for permanent wiring, which may be more than you need.

If the computers are in the same room, or adjacent, all that is needed is
1 a network card in each machine.
2 a powered hub
3 a STRAIGHT (not crossover) cable from each machine to the hub.

As cables can be bought "off the shelf" in various lengths up to about 15 metres, the permanent wiring may well be unnecessary.

A starter network kit is available from PCWorld ( :o ) that provides everything for a two computer network. Adding the third machine requires only another network card, and a cable to the hub.

Hope that helps

David

JohnO
08-28-2002, 04:40 PM
Philzee, David is correct that you definitely do not need the kit. But rather than a hub, I suggest getting a router. It may cost a bit more, but when you are ready to hook up the internet to your network, you will be glad to have it. Also it is much faster and easier to set up.

bmpkns2
08-28-2002, 06:03 PM
I had the hub setup between two computers, but with that you have to configure each computer to use a certain IP address, numbers, and a lotta headaches to go with it, with a router you basically have to plug it in and that is it. To connect to the internet you just put in your passwords and username and the router connects, which keeps you 'always online' no need to connect the computers to the internet, just plugged into the router. The cost difference is about 40.00 for a hub, versus around 100.00 for a router, but a lot less confusion.


my two cents. good luck
linksys router (http://www.linksys.com)

philzee
08-29-2002, 07:12 AM
Ok ..thanks for the help, i guess i don't need that then lol, So can anyone recommend a router? which features should I be looking out for in a router are there any I should avoid?

classicsoftware
08-29-2002, 09:13 AM
I have had great results with Linksys....

Three PC's set will less than 15 minutes. from box opening to game playing.

philzee
08-29-2002, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by classicsoftware
I have had great results with Linksys....

Three PC's set will less than 15 minutes. from box opening to game playing.

ok ...but which model is it?...is it a switching one (whatever that means?)

jabarnutcase
08-29-2002, 09:54 PM
Hi Philzee-
Boy, I sure have been saying this a lot lately...I was already sounding like a linksys salesman in the last post about this stuff. :D
Anyway, I agree with classicsoftware...I have had THIS (http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=23&prid=20) model for quite a while.
I have three computers hooked to it with a cable modem and I highly recommend it.
The link I gave you will explain a lot. Check out the features and some reading in the "educate me" tab.
They also make wireless models like THIS (http://www.linksys.com/Products/product.asp?grid=23&prid=173) one that I have heard work quite well, tho I haven't used one...
Good luck!

classicsoftware
08-29-2002, 11:31 PM
I have used switches for those clients who have a samll network and do not already own a hub.

I used the single BEFSR11 for those clients (also myself) who have a larger network and already had a hub setup.

What I meant to say was you'll be up and running in 15 minutes...