PDA

View Full Version : AMD processor



user
06-17-2001, 12:00 AM
Is it possible to use an AMD K6-2 (500) on a motherboard with Socket A?

Reid
06-17-2001, 12:05 AM
No, the K6-2 is a Socket 7 CPU.

------------------
reido@my-deja.com

Friends don't let friends install Windows ME

kriptokool
06-21-2001, 04:17 AM
just to give ya a clue... so you don't have to ask which Proc. goes with each motherboard..

Slot 1 = pentium II & III Celerons
Slot A = AMD Athlons
s370 = Celeron
Socket 7 = Pentuim, pentium MMX, Cyrix, AMD k6
Sup Soket 7 = AMD K6/2 K6/3
Socket A = Thunderbird Athlons and Durons


and of course but can't remember the motherboard but I'm pretty sure that the P4 is s423 or something like that..

Hope I was of some help... and If I'm wrong.. any of you guys correct me I don't want to give wrong info.. I'm a little bit drunk and I' typing quiet fast!!!

Randy_tx
06-21-2001, 01:11 PM
Actually, the Socket 370 now supports ALL Intel Pent. II & III chips and the Socket 423 handles the P4.

------------------
Will XP save Me ?

yawningdog
06-21-2001, 07:43 PM
Are you sure about that Randy tx? My info says that there is a slight difference between socket 370 and FCPGA. Some socket 370s accept the flip-chip and some do not, depending on mobo manufacturer. Something to do with a reset pinout and voltage requirements for stability.

------------------
He thrusts his fists against the posts but still insists he sees the ghosts.