PDA

View Full Version : PC doesn't boot up

NickPr
09-28-2002, 07:22 PM
Hi,
I have a problem with a PC I'm working on. I am an amateur PC technician, and I havent worked on PCs in about a year. The PC I'm working on for a relative is a Compaq Presario, and the specs are
PIII 933Mhz 128 MB RAM, 60GB HD running WinME. Now, initially when I started it, it booted up with a distorted winme startup screen, and then would go no further. The second time I powered on, it didnt even boot. All fans, lights, etc are on, but there is no display at all. All cables are firmly in place, and there is power going to the monitor. I've tried reseting the CMOS, replacing the battery, tried a different HD, only thing I have not tried is replacing the CPU, as I have no PIII's to use. Any ideas as to what the problem might be? Only thing I can think of is that the mobo is fried, and I hoping thats not the case.

Thanks!

ski
09-28-2002, 07:34 PM
The problem can be caused by a bad MB, CPU, memory, or video card.
Also, a grounded MB can cause it. To troubleshoot this, remove the MB from the case and place it on a piece of cardboard.

sleddog
09-28-2002, 09:29 PM
The most important word here may be Compaq. If I recall correctly, they store the BIOS settings on the harddrive (?) And if I recall correctly again, the only way of re-installing the OS on them is by using the Compaq restore CD (?) But I may be dreaming :) Hopefully someone with some Compaq experience will wade in here.

mjc
09-28-2002, 10:38 PM
sleddog...the last Compaq that I know of that stored the settings on the dard drive was made in 1999. The newer ones are more or less "normal" in that area. It could be the video card (if it has onboard then, hopefully there will be a way to disable it), I am leaning toward it or the motherboard.

NickPr
09-30-2002, 02:33 AM