PDA

View Full Version : Connect 2 pc's and share internet connection

chad_bridge
10-02-2002, 10:32 AM
hi all,

i was wondering if you could help me with this one as i am a beginner.

I have 2 pc's one which is mine that has got xp professional and my sisters in her room that has 98 second edition. i have network cards installed in both machines and i wanted to know how i go about connecting the two machines together im getting some RJ45 cable to connect them but how will i set it all up will xp do it all for me even the internet access thing.

it is my computer that has the internet connection and i want my sisters connected to it.

Also logging on aswell how do i sort all that out do i need a special client or just use one from windows? (oh yeah i want to be the administrator and run the network i already have prog's for that though :)

any help would be appreciated

thanks

chad

Jiggy
10-02-2002, 06:53 PM
for the cable use Cat5 cross over cable, if you set up the network from the XP side first by using the software/driver disk that came with your nic cards, follow the on screen directions, near the end you will get a screen with a lot of options on, one will be to make a network boot disk, make one.
once you have made the disk use it on your win98 puter and again follow it through and select the option that says "this pc connects to the internet through another pc.
you have not said how you are connected to the net, so if on a dial up go in to options/setting on your dial up and tick something like "let others access the net through this connection.
if on ADSL or Cable modem why not go for a Router.

chad_bridge
10-03-2002, 01:42 PM
thanks for the reply jiggy it was very helpfull but some questions to add on that you might be able to answer to please.

what is a router?

will i be able to administer the other machine from mine aswell?