PDA

View Full Version : reg novell behaviour



dinakar
11-02-2002, 02:09 PM
sir we have so many questions againist novell netware 5.1 server ,
1. ourserver has 35 gb data volume , 2 gb sys volume . some timesthey are automatically filled [space is decrimented by 1 gb or more]without any copy of data by me , or our users
why this is happening .
2.if we connect the novell server by using https:\server ip then it willnot consume user licence , but in our case it is consuming the licence , we are able to see the connection info at monitor ,
any other way to trace out the how many user licenses are in use ?
3.how to copy the users, rights of them from one server to another server which are having same data .
4.how to use the less licence conection efficiently
thanks in advance

Ghost_Hacker
11-05-2002, 08:06 AM
test

Ghost_Hacker
11-05-2002, 08:46 AM
ourserver has 35 gb data volume , 2 gb sys volume . some timesthey are automatically filled [space is decrimented by 1 gb or more]without any copy of data by me , or our users
why this is happening


This is one reason why I don't recommend that you run a file server as a web server. (IE: run a internet accessible file server.) You now must look to see if your server has been compromised and at the same time look to see if your suffering from some other glitch. Unfornately, I can't help you because I have no idea how you use your server .




if we connect the novell server by using https:\server ip then it willnot consume user licence , but in our case it is consuming the licence , we are able to see the connection info at monitor ,
any other way to trace out the how many user licenses are in use ?


I'll assume your users are using Netware services that are running on that server, this will use a license. Using HTTPS does not guarantee that a license won't be used.



how to copy the users, rights of them from one server to another server which are having same data .



Are you migrating a server? If so, I have already helped you with this one before. This link might help: Migrating to Netware 5 (http://www.networkcomputing.com/1005/1005ws1.html)

If not, you need to look at how you manage your users. For instance do you use groups to assign rights or are rights assigned to each user individually? Are you talking about file system rights or NDS rights?



how to use the less licence conection efficiently

If you have an NT server there is a way to "funnel" users thur it to your Netware server and only use one license. Otherwise, you'll need the correct number of licenses (plus some for growth) for all the users you think will be accessing the server.


Questions like the ones you've posted can't be answered without knowing a lot more about your network enviroment. So if you need more help you'll need to post more info on what your trying to do and how your trying to do it.


Good Luck :)