View Full Version : My site....Sorry
To all the members of PCGuide....
I wish to apologize to any of you who may, inadvertantly on my part, been subjected to a browser hijacker known as Xupiter. Tonight I was informed that FortuneCity, as part of their pop-ad rotation has included both it and Gator.....two of the most notorious and vile pieces of spyware. If anyone has visited my site, hosted on FortuneCity, I would advise you to please run Spybot Search & Destroy (http://security.kolla.de/).
I would also strongly recommend a general avoidance of any FortuneCity link. I am pulling my site and moving it elsewhere, so until I post an update, please do not try to go there....
Again, I am really sorry if any one has become infected.......
mjc
kayofcircles
11-17-2002, 10:36 AM
Not fussing..or anything..but did try to go there and popups all over the screen. Can I "know" if I got infected without running the software you just mentioned? Or just run AdAware that I already have on my puter?
sleddog
11-17-2002, 10:41 AM
Originally posted by mjc
I am pulling my site and moving it elsewhere
I PM'ed you on this mjc.
Paul Komski
11-17-2002, 04:36 PM
Have duly added fortunecity.com (216.27.93.20) to ZA's Restricted Sites Zone.
If your changing sites, highly recommend getting yourself a domain name at this stage! and mjcash.com is now available as well! :D
sleddog
11-17-2002, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by Paul Komski
Have duly added fortunecity.com (216.27.93.20) to ZA's Restricted Sites Zone.
Maybe you should add it to Intenet Explorer's restricted sites instead :)
I just browsed the Fortune City site, plus several of their members' pages with no problem (and no pop-ups). But I was using Opera 7 (beta 1).
Paul Komski
11-17-2002, 06:31 PM
Using Opera too. Can't stop popups with IE5 though. Can with ZA of course. Just thought the safest way was to block the domain in case of being caught off-guard and directed there by a link elsewhere.
Would popups be the only route of installing spyware on this (or other) fortunecity site?? What about any banner ads for example?
Fruss Tray Ted
11-17-2002, 07:24 PM
...and found more than one that opens one of those taskbars that merely state ...Internet Explorer or something to that effect that opens under the viewing plane of your monitor. But if you open and close it quickly it displays that it is in fact part of Gator. I couldn't read it entirely as it only was there for a flash. I closed that, and tried to click on one of the 'tips and tricks' page and I got one of those 'illegal operation' error messages that closed the whole page once I clicked OK.
I haven't seen one of those for a LOOOONG time!
And although I have Popup and Virus protection through my ISP, there were many popups that made it through anyway at several sites I browsed. The most of them were pop-unders that load while you peruse the site you clicked on. Most of them closed without a hitch but when I got that underhanded, can't view it at all page running in the background, well FortuneCity can take a flying leap...
I will be adding them to my 'avoid at all costs' list.
Now I need to give my pc a bath...http://65.68.63.156/mysmilies/otn/other/bulbool.gif
Hmm, found 2 cookies from Gator
DwnMp3
11-26-2002, 11:24 AM
I was reading some of your post and you guys arent liking pop ups huh?... i have this program called Pop up killer and it ads the "title" of the web page/pop up and blocks it when it pop ups. it works great 4 me
gracious
04-15-2003, 07:36 AM
MJC, I noticed that your image also showed weatherbug. Is this a bad thing to have running on the puter?
Weatherbug (free version) had in the past bundled confirmed spyware, and their current EULA leaves it open for them to include it again if they so choose (the way they go about updates), so while technically being "clean" they can become "bad"....
There are a few other apps that don't load any "extras", are leanerand IMO less obtrusive....
WeatherWatcher (http://www.singerscreations.com/) is one of these.
vBulletin v3.6.1, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.