View Full Version : RIAA and class action suit
setoguro
01-08-2003, 11:53 PM
The RIAA may owe you $20 from a settlement in a class action suit against the recording industry for price fixing. I read about it here (http://arstechnica.com/). I heard about the suit at the time of the Napster trails and then nothing. Funny that they think that Piracy, and ripping them off is illegal but that they have had no problems with price fixing and ripping of the buyers.
MichaelMHP
01-10-2003, 10:45 AM
I'd love to stick it to RIAA as much as the next guy for their miserable behavior and positions, but there is something wrong with this…
Why isn’t this in the news? What about RIAA- it isn’t mentioned anywhere on their website. Also, the claim site says it is a secure site, but isn’t. I’m not saying this is a hoax, but if I’m to provide my name, address, birth date, and part of my SSN to anyone, I’d prefer a REAL secure site, and perhaps more documentation, such as the case number, jurisdiction, plaintiff counsel, or something.
It’s just that I could set up this site in a few hours, and I can’t unequivocally PROVE it isn’t fake.
Any other expert thoughts?
YODA74
01-10-2003, 11:10 AM
If your going to do that make sure you tell them you want interest on the money they owe you, couse by the time you ever see it,it will be worth the equivalent of what a quarter is today...;)
Not that this really adds much to the validity of the site in question but there was an ad in the USAWeekend suppliment in the Sunday paper a few weeks ago.
So...
Here is the Whois record for the site:
Domain Name: MUSICCDSETTLEMENT.COM
Administrative Contact:
Rust Consulting, Inc. (KZPXFPWQJO) cmichelsen@rustconsulting.com
Rust Consulting, Inc.
501 MARQUETTE AVE STE 700
MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55402-1208
US
612-359-2000
Technical Contact:
Concentric Network Corporation (CNCXCH-ORG) hostmaster@CNCHOST.COM
1400 Parkmoor Ave
San Jose, CA 95126
US
408-817-2800
Fax- 408-817-2810
Record expires on 26-Sep-2004.
Record created on 26-Sep-2002.
Database last updated on 10-Jan-2003 10:56:39 EST.
More info..
http://leflaw.com/cases/cdmap/
joea64
01-22-2003, 08:36 PM
Originally posted by mjc
Not that this really adds much to the validity of the site in question but there was an ad in the USAWeekend suppliment in the Sunday paper a few weeks ago.
So...
Here is the Whois record for the site:
Domain Name: MUSICCDSETTLEMENT.COM
Administrative Contact:
Rust Consulting, Inc. (KZPXFPWQJO) cmichelsen@rustconsulting.com
Rust Consulting, Inc.
501 MARQUETTE AVE STE 700
MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55402-1208
US
612-359-2000
Technical Contact:
Concentric Network Corporation (CNCXCH-ORG) hostmaster@CNCHOST.COM
1400 Parkmoor Ave
San Jose, CA 95126
US
408-817-2800
Fax- 408-817-2810
Record expires on 26-Sep-2004.
Record created on 26-Sep-2002.
Database last updated on 10-Jan-2003 10:56:39 EST.
More info..
http://leflaw.com/cases/cdmap/
Everyone, I can confirm that the Whois record below is genuine. I worked for Rust Consulting (at their Northern VA office which specialized in electronic databasing of litigation documentation) from the end of 1995 to the summer of 1998, and then with their federal-contractor sister company Rust Federal until it was sold to Labat-Anderson in late 2000 (I'm still with Labat as of this writing). Rust Consulting's Minnesota office does specialize in the handling and disbursal of claims settlement; I got a check from them a couple of years back as settlement of my part of a class-action suit. So this is on the level.
-Joe-
Budfred
01-22-2003, 09:31 PM
This was on the news last night and they said that while it was true, if too many people claim the payment, no individual will get anything. Apparently if too many sign up, they have the option of giving it all to certain causes without disbursing a dime to consumers. So apply for it, but not too many of you.....:rolleyes:
Budfred
vBulletin v3.6.1, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.