PDA

View Full Version : Can a US power cord be safely used on 220v electricity?



Dukealoha
01-31-2003, 09:25 AM
Can a US power cord be safely used on 220v electricity?

I have a Philips 105s monitor (rated 90 - 264 VAC, 50/60Hz)
and a Hewlett Packard 640C printer with its own power adapter
(100 - 240v ~ 0.4A 50/60Hz) that have cords with Australian-style plugs.

I am shipping them to the Philippines (220v / 60Hz) but cannot
locate any adapters for the Australian-style plugs here in Hawaii.

The local Tandy store has replacement cords (rated 125v) which
will give me US-style plugs and I have adapters so I can use
them in Philippine round-pin power points.

The Tandy salesperson tells me I should be able to use
the cords with no problem since it is amperage, not
voltage that I should mainly be concerned about.

I know my equipment can handle the 220v but I'm concerned
the 125v-rated cords would "melt-down" after prolonged
use on the 220v current.

Any input would be highly appreciated as my stuff gets
shipped out on the Feb. 5th.

Mahalo (thank you) for your time and trouble ... Duke

mjc
01-31-2003, 10:34 AM
This is a big maybe.

A quality cord, of at least 18AWG should be able to handle 300v. The rating should be marked on it.

I just looked at 6 cords I have, 5 of them are 18AWG and are rated 300v, the other one is smaller 22w and it is not.

Dukealoha
01-31-2003, 12:36 PM
Aloha MJC,

Looks like I'm half-way there.

I double-checked my power cords and found one marked with 3x18AWG 60C.
It had 10A 250v barely noticeable molded into the part that sticks into the power supply. This takes care of my monitor.

The printer's power adapter has a smaller detachable power cord comparable to those on stereo equipment. The cord states 10A 250v on the plug but 2.5A 250v on the end that sticks into the adapter.

The adapter's specs are:
Input 100-240V ~ 0.4A 50/60Hz, 25-35 VA
Output 24V, 0.5A

I also located the following wattage information out of the manual.
2 watts when off; 2.5 watts maximum when not printing; and 23 watts
when printing.

Aloha ... Duke

Fruss Tray Ted
01-31-2003, 07:07 PM
These (http://www.dvdoverseas.com/store/catalog6_0.html) look nice :)

setoguro
01-31-2003, 07:13 PM
It all depends on if the female end is set up to take it. Sometimes different countries have different setups. See you did the research after I reread the post.

Dukealoha
02-01-2003, 12:01 PM
Fruss Tray Ted & Setoguro,

Thanks for the feedback.

The transformers / converters are nice and I'll look into a bit more
as I still have some Aussie 240-v only items that I'd like to
use in the states (mainly PAL-related items).

My problem wasn't so much converting the current since both
my HP 640C printer and Philips 105s monitor automatically do this
and I know they can both handle the Philippine 220v current.

The problem is my power cords have Australian style plugs.

While US-to-round pin adapters are fairly common I don't
ever recall seeing an adapters for Australian plugs when I
lived in the Philipppines.

Using power cords with US-plugs turned out to be a short notice
option since Tandy sent me the wrong adapters (US-to-Australian)
the other day and the stuff gets shipped out on Wednesday Feb. 5th.

Luckily, thanks to mjc's comments, I found a 250v power cord
for the monitor.

Yesterday I picked up a replacement AC Power Cord from Tandy.
It is Radio Shack 61-2876 Black ~ Rated 10A, 125V, 1250W
I think it should work if it is rated for 10Amps and 1250W but
again my concern is it definitely states it is rated for 125V.

Of course another option would be to cut-off the Australian
plug and replace it with a Philippine round-pin plug.

Fruss Tray Ted
02-01-2003, 04:50 PM
Cutting the end off is viable but it seems a new cord for your pc would be just as inexpensive. I wonder if there's a way to find one online before you move or to find one easily after you do. Maybe a few phone calls would reap some results.

The PS in the link I posted has a few adapters to accommodate a few different standards. Does it have the Phillipino one you need? I guess you need to E-mail them to find out. Or look for the proper cables for your pc. Better yet, click on the pic... (let it load, it's in pdf format)

http://www.impactron.co.uk/pix/p272.jpg (http://www.impactron.co.uk/src/pwradapt.pdf)

Paul Komski
02-01-2003, 06:34 PM
The Tandy salesperson tells me I should be able to use
the cords with no problem since it is amperage, not
voltage that I should mainly be concerned about.

Correct. It's the current that will burn out a wire. Use that cord on a 12V system in a motor car and whether it can handle it or not depends on what you connect it to. It would be grand to connect to a light bulb (high resistance) but would burn-out if you ran it to the starter-motor (low resistance).

Dukealoha
02-02-2003, 12:27 AM
I've checked around locally without success ... that's why I had to do the special order with Tandy which unfortunately sent me the opposite of what I needed.

I did do some on-line checks and need something like this.

http://appliances.safeshopper.com/90/456.htm?412

Dukealoha
02-02-2003, 12:33 AM
This is basically what I am convertering.

Luckily I am converting the unearthed version.

http://www.voltageconverters.com/cgi-bin/shopper.cgi?preadd=action&key=GS3