PDA

View Full Version : PTsnoop.exe protection fault?



Hoop
02-08-2003, 01:34 PM
Everytime I boot up my computer,I receive an error message that ptsnoop.exe has caused a general protection fault in module ptsnoop.exe at 0001:00000b19.If I run msconfig it is in the start up menu as load=ptsnoop.exe. It also appears in the win.ini folder the same way.Can anyone tell me how to correct this problem? I am not that well versed in system troubleshooting so I would appreciate as many step by step instructions as possible.
Thank you,
Hoop

rahulkothari
02-08-2003, 01:55 PM
Run msconfig.

Remove from the Win.ini tab under Load='path'\PTSNOOP

Remove from the System.ini tab under drivers='path'\ptrtkr.drb.

the above info was collected from this site (http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_pages/startup_full.htm). If u wanna know more aba prgs loading at strtup, visit the site.

Budfred
02-08-2003, 04:11 PM
This program may be a trojan and if you have one, you may have more. I would urge you to go to mjc's security thread and download a spyware scanner (like Spybot), trojan hunter, and antivirus if you don't already have them. I would also run an online virus scan since if you have invaders they may be fooling your installed AV software. mjc's thread is here:

http://www.pcguide.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=15179

mjc
02-08-2003, 08:03 PM
Most often, ptsnoop is part of your modem drivers, especially if you have a winmodem.