PDA

View Full Version : 98SE boot "rem" line



kayofcircles
02-24-2003, 11:27 AM
Newer puter..98SE, MSI 6340M mobo, onboard video, 900 Athlon. Anyway, as puter boots, there is first screen with Del thing at bottom, then windows 98 screen, then third screen..which for whatever reason has always flashed three times. It has done that flash thing through some four or five "startovers" and with several video cards and drivers..so we don't think we care and it doesn't seem to effect performance. But, at bottom of that third flashy screen is a rem line that reads similar to "rem 98 Windows Netstart C:\\ Windows Net start" or C:\\Windows\System\Netstart maybe. Hard to catch since flashing and not there very long. Bootlog looks good..but at very bottom it reads "Unloading Network."

So, my question is..does anyone know what that might be? And, if 98SE is unloading whatever it is at the end of the booting process, why not just get rid of it altogether? And if that's what I need to do, how do I do that?

mjc
02-24-2003, 12:10 PM
Ahhhhh, Kay good question....

Yes if you aren't using something and don't need/miss it and it unloads right after it loads, just get rid of it...but that is often easier said than done.

I think this is a case for using StartupList...http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/

It will provide a much more detailed view of what is running anwhere it is running from than msconfig.

I would recommend running it with the /complet option (you will need to unzip it and then use the Run box (type in [b]c:\%where ever you put it\startuplist.exe /complete[b]...it can be put on a floppy and run from the floppy). It will then open Notepad to display the list, just copy and paste that here.

Paul Komski
02-24-2003, 06:34 PM
Just a thought. If there's an onboard or pci NIC you could try reinstalling or upgrading its drivers.

Vic 970
02-24-2003, 07:55 PM
Hi Kay,

mine does the same, never bothered with it but you've prompted me to wonder, just found this in bootlog.txt (last bit of a long file)
---------------
[0013A479] Enumerating Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator (ROOT\SWENUM\0000)
[0013A479] Enumerated Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator (ROOT\SWENUM\0000)
[0013A479] Enumerating Microsoft Kernel System Renderer (SW\{A7C7A5B0-5AF3-11D1-9CED-00A024BF0407}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
[0013A479] Enumerated Microsoft Kernel System Renderer (SW\{A7C7A5B0-5AF3-11D1-9CED-00A024BF0407}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
[0013CADF] Enumerating TCP/IP (NETWORK\MSTCP\0000)
[0013CADF] Enumerated TCP/IP (NETWORK\MSTCP\0000)
[0013CADF] Loading PNP drivers of Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013CADF] Starting Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013CADF] Started Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013CAE5] Starting Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013CAE5] Started Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013CB0F] Loaded PNP drivers of Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013CB0F] Enumerating Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013CB0F] Enumerated Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013CB0F] Starting Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013CB0F] Started Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013CB15] Enumerating Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013CB15] Enumerated Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013D9C6] Enumerating TCP/IP (NETWORK\MSTCP\0000)
[0013D9C6] Enumerated TCP/IP (NETWORK\MSTCP\0000)
[0013D9C6] Loading PNP drivers of Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013D9C6] Starting Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013D9C6] Started Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013D9CD] Starting Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013D9CD] Started Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013D9D4] Loaded PNP drivers of Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013D9D4] Enumerating Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013D9D4] Enumerated Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013D9D4] Starting Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013D9D4] Started Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013D9D9] Enumerating Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013D9D9] Enumerated Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013F013] Enumerating TCP/IP (NETWORK\MSTCP\0000)
[0013F013] Enumerated TCP/IP (NETWORK\MSTCP\0000)
[0013F013] Loading PNP drivers of Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013F013] Starting Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013F013] Started Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013F01A] Starting Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013F01A] Started Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013F022] Loaded PNP drivers of Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013F022] Enumerating Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013F022] Enumerated Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[0013F022] Starting Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013F022] Started Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013F028] Enumerating Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[0013F028] Enumerated Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[00140E63] Enumerating TCP/IP (NETWORK\MSTCP\0000)
[00140E63] Enumerated TCP/IP (NETWORK\MSTCP\0000)
[00140E63] Loading PNP drivers of Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[00140E63] Starting Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[00140E63] Started Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[00140E68] Starting Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[00140E68] Started Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[00140E6C] Loaded PNP drivers of Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[00140E6C] Enumerating Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[00140E6C] Enumerated Client for Microsoft Networks (NETWORK\VREDIR\0001)
[00140E6C] Starting Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[00140E6C] Started Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[00140E75] Enumerating Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
[00140E75] Enumerated Microsoft Family Logon (NETWORK\FAMILY\0000)
Terminate = User
Terminate = Query Drivers
EndTerminate = Query Drivers
[0015C94D] Enumerating Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator (ROOT\SWENUM\0000)
[0015C94D] Enumerated Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator (ROOT\SWENUM\0000)
[0015C94D] Loading PNP drivers of Microsoft Kernel Audio Mixer (SW\{B7EAFDC0-A680-11D0-96D8-00AA0051E51D}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
[0015C94D] Loaded PNP drivers of Microsoft Kernel Audio Mixer (SW\{B7EAFDC0-A680-11D0-96D8-00AA0051E51D}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
[0015C94D] Starting Microsoft Kernel Audio Mixer (SW\{B7EAFDC0-A680-11D0-96D8-00AA0051E51D}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
[0015C94D] Started Microsoft Kernel Audio Mixer (SW\{B7EAFDC0-A680-11D0-96D8-00AA0051E51D}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
[0015C94D] Enumerating Microsoft Kernel System Renderer (SW\{A7C7A5B0-5AF3-11D1-9CED-00A024BF0407}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
[0015C94D] Enumerated Microsoft Kernel System Renderer (SW\{A7C7A5B0-5AF3-11D1-9CED-00A024BF0407}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
[0015C94D] Enumerating Microsoft Kernel Audio Mixer (SW\{B7EAFDC0-A680-11D0-96D8-00AA0051E51D}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
[0015C94D] Enumerated Microsoft Kernel Audio Mixer (SW\{B7EAFDC0-A680-11D0-96D8-00AA0051E51D}\{9B365890-165F-11D0-A195-0020AFD156E4})
Terminate = Unload Network
EndTerminate = Unload Network
Terminate = Reset Display
EndTerminate = Reset Display
EndTerminate = User
-------------------------
note last few lines, ie: terminate, end terminate etc. maybe some of this should be 'rem'd' out to cure the prob. just a question of what, & why. maybe it's loading network then finding no settings, so unloading again.
and of course the 2 reset display items.

Budfred
02-24-2003, 10:16 PM
Kay,

Have you looked in Autoexec.bat and Config.sys to see if you can identify the mystery REM program?

Paul Komski
02-24-2003, 11:36 PM
Each Terminate should have a matching EndTerminate somewhere.

The last line of bootlog should be "EndTerminate=KERNEL".

It sounds like a conflict with Real Mode Drivers in config.sys - with network being high on the list.

Since very few drivers are loaded when going into SafeMode, do these screens still show when booting into SafeMode?

You could also try a selective or diagnostic startup; see
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/199869145548

kayofcircles
02-25-2003, 12:36 PM
The trouble with being "between" puters is that I keep putting links in Hotmail so that can access from either, but apparently deleted link to MSKB on this one that had a list of "failed" stuff in bootlog that was not a problem. Things like "vnetbios.vxd" and "netsup.vxd"..that sort of thing..and pretty sure that something like NDIS was on the "who cares" list. Anyway, Budfred, there was a question mark in the Network Adaptors section of Device Manager for something called "NDIS driver #2." ?? Said "from" 98 when checked on Properties. So, looked in msconfig..and there is a line that I unchecked in Autoexec.bat that reads "C:\Windows\netstart" so I believe that's why it's "unloading" at bottom of bootlog. Right? And since I couldn't get online with it the way it was, I installed the Microsoft Virtual Private thingy and removed the NDIS driver #2 thingy in Device Manager. Not having connection problems anymore. And should add that the only reason that I uninstalled the NDIS thingy was because on the "flashing screen" there was an error report on something to do with networking, and it's no longer there..no more error, just the rem line.

This is probably not relevant, but another weird thing is that we were very careful NOT to install "Online Services" when we installed SE, but we got it anyway. And every time we tried to open OE or IE, we got a message about connecting to MSN, and there was no way to get around it. Tried accessing IE from different places..and MSN screen every time. We couldn't get into IE or OE until after we had configured a DialUp connection. And other than Nero for the CD writer..there was nothing much installed at that point..so don't think it snuck in with something else.

Okay, will do the StartUp list thing, mjc..thanks.

Paul Komski
02-25-2003, 04:22 PM
That MSN connection is always there after a new install from a runonce reg key. Think you have to actually connect to the site before the reg entry is deleted. It then leaves msn.com as the default homepage, which you could obviously change or set to blank.

You can "rem-out" all the real mode drivers from a single line in autoexec.bat (they are really only needed for DOS/16bit apps) but your editing and removal of the NDIS driver seem to have done the trick for you. The individual ones are usually listed in config.sys.

FYI: NIC (Ethernet) drivers are of two types namely Miniport and Full NIC; it is the former use the NDIS as an interface to the OS.

If you should have any further "networking" problems you might want to install updated drivers for your NIC and check out Device Manager.

Unless you are going to be using VPN, seems no point in having it installed.

Good Luck.

kayofcircles
02-26-2003, 11:54 AM
mjc: Downloaded StartUpList on old puter because don't have unzip prog on this one yet. Put it on floppy, came over here and when tried Run off floppy, got "Required file not found: MSVBM60.DLL". Tried running off Desktop, same message. Then phone calls and cat limping, and distractions..so shutdown new. Idly clicked on exe file on old puter, ran StartUpList just fine (same file I copied to floppy), so thought maybe old had missing dll, but Find file says "no." Wanted you to know that I tried, and will try again after getting unzipping prog on this one, or transfering in some other way.

Found link.. Load failures in bootlog (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;EN-US;Q127970&ID=KB;EN-US;Q127970&FR=1&LNG=ENG&SA=PER&) . Note that it lists "ndis2sup.vxd" and "SDVXD" as nothing to worry about..and those are the only failures on new except for Fonts thing which I am still trying to figure out, and has a Fonts failure thing on that MSKB page, but implies that is only after installing? (Will follow up on that in original question when get further.)

Paul : My last line is not the Kernel thing either. My last lines in bootlog are:
Terminate = User
Terminate = Query Drivers
EndTerminate = Query Drivers
Terminate = Unload Network
EndTerminate = Unload Network
Terminate = Reset Display
EndTerminate = Reset Display
EndTerminate = User

And this is a wee bit embarrassing, but I don't know for sure whether I have that NIC stuff..but I really doubt it because we never intended to network even our personal puters. And think I would have noticed some mention of it somewhere if I did have such a thing..like in Device Manager, or Sys Info..both places where I have spent some time lately checking on things.

mjc
02-26-2003, 12:58 PM
Ok, you haven't loaded naything on the new one that uses the VB6 runtimes yet...darn it is going to require a download...

http://tinyurl.com/2mtv

kayofcircles
02-26-2003, 01:20 PM
Lol:D :D I was just about to go offline and boot up old, and go get stuff don't have Favorites links for (argh!)..when read your latest. WHAT??? Don't even know what that stuff is..but have posted IE 5 question that may relate..so will wait until tomorrow.

I think I am gonna really like this one..as soon as I get it up to speed..lol. Zippy and fast and cooperative, for the most part. But can almost operate my old one with my eyes closed..so want to get everything that way on this one, and then Ghost it. Then you guys will see a happy old lady. :)

roy67ss
02-26-2003, 01:39 PM
Hi,
Just a note here, my machine used to flash the display about 5 times when booting up, then it was fine, like yours. That was running with the onboard video. I put in the AOpen GForce 2 card about 2 mos ago and all of that flashing went away. I presume the problem was with the onboard video or its drivers (savage s3).

kayofcircles
02-27-2003, 11:49 AM
roy67ss : And "hi" back to you. That could very well be it..cuz mobo does have the S3 stuff. We did try a couple of other video cards, and drivers, and it still flashed..and as I said above, it doesn't seem to effect anything else so we've decided we don't care.:)

kayofcircles
02-28-2003, 11:54 AM
mjc : Installed IE 5.01 with SP2 yesterday off CD son made for me. Tried to run StartUpList..still won't work. So, was going to download your above thing, but I don't know what to download, and I don't really understand (did try to click on some info links) what Virtual Basic is. Do I want/need it for what I usually do online?

And my son didn't "do" IE 5.5 with SP2 because SP2 wasn't available then. I will have him download it for me soon, and maybe even install it. I mean, installing it from CD yesterday took maybe five minutes as opposed to when I downloaded IE 5 from the Net years ago for more than four hours! Four hours of anxiously checking on it, hoping not to lose connection before it was finished. Same thing yesterday on security updates..43 anxious minutes of download!

mjc
02-28-2003, 12:01 PM
FILE: VBRun60sp5.exe Installs Visual Basic 6.0 Run-Time Files. That is the latest with security fixes, the next one down on the list is without the fixes.

kayofcircles
02-28-2003, 12:15 PM
Thanks..wrote that down and will go over for it. Sorry to be so spooky about this stuff..it's just that, this time, this puter is actually "working" without a ton of error messages like last year, and I am paranoid about doing anything that would change that! I was telling beloved about not being able to run the StartList thing, and my thread here about the "rem" line, and he said, "Well, we could start over again and not install anything to do with networking. That might fix the problem." AAAHHH!!! Almost bit his head off..don't think so! Have spent all my "spare" time customizing and configuring..and I don't want to start over again.

kayofcircles
03-01-2003, 12:17 PM
mjc : Installed above program. Tried Run line above, with and without a space (looked like there was one on my printed copy) before /Complete..and it says path invalid, may be missing library. But, main thing runs..and here are results:

StartupList report, 2/28/03, 10:10:33 AM
StartupList version: 1.51
Started from : C:\MY DOCUMENTS\MYTEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
Detected: Internet Explorer v5.00 SP2 (5.00.3314.2100)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\MY DOCUMENTS\MYTEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
InCD = C:\Program Files\ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
AVG_CC = C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run Services

LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 27/2/2003, 11:54:24)

[rename]
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\vbscript.dll=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\v bscript.001

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37675.3939814815

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 2,449 bytes
Report generated in 0.066 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only

Thought of deleting that last part with command codes, but wanted to show I did have them in report. (And, not to worry, I turn "on" ZA manually before going online.)

mjc
03-01-2003, 05:34 PM
I would like to see the complete, but not really important. The complete would list out the autoexec and config sys files too....


The good thing is there aren't really any extras, and if I remember from last time you attempted this machine you weren't planning on networking right away (or at all?), so you could probably go ahead and disable any networking components other than the modem.

kayofcircles
03-02-2003, 01:58 PM
No, I don't think I have any need to network with another puter, online or offline..unless you count my ISP's puter. My husband said the same thing..but an ISP tech was the one who had me install Virtual Private Networking, and I made the assumption that it was necessary for good connections and surfing. So, requesting a bit of clarification. But, before I get into that..there is nothing in msconfig listed under Config, and under AutoExec it has "C:\WINDOWS\net start" which I unchecked to resolve (I thought) an error message on the flashing screen, and which seems to have done just that because no more error message.

Okay, so in Networking I would just need the Dial Up adaptor, and the TCP/IP stuff? And in Device Manager, I have Dial Up adaptor and Microsoft Virtual Private Network adaptor..but don't need the Virtual Private stuff?

mjc
03-02-2003, 02:55 PM
Right, all you will need is the Dial-up and the TCP/IP, the VPN isn't needed.

You can manully go to Autoexec and remove that netsart line....

Reid
03-02-2003, 05:23 PM
Originally posted by kayofcircles
a list of "failed" stuff in bootlog that was not a problem. Things like "vnetbios.vxd" and "netsup.vxd"..that sort of thing..and pretty sure that something like NDIS was on the "who cares" list.
Maybe they are not needed, but Microsoft Knowledge Base Article - 166832 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;166832) seems to address the problem.

kayofcircles
03-03-2003, 11:21 AM
mjc : One last question, sorry. Removing the network stuff should remove the Rem line in bootup?

Thanks, Reid , I saved that link just in case. And may I add that it's good to see you, and I hope you're feeling better.