PDA

View Full Version : Win ME New--ReInstall?????



Grumper
03-05-2003, 07:06 AM
My Son has Win ME OS [from Dell] and he wants to format a hard drive [on a non Dell machine] and put Win ME back on the HD. I was looking at the possibilities and am a little confused.The disk that came with the new unit 2 yrs ago says nothing about being "installation disks" rather it states 'Operating System---for the Reinstallation of Win ME" then in smaller print use this disk only on a Dell system"

Is this the fore runner to the Win XP one machine only program ????

YODA74
03-05-2003, 08:54 AM
How may disks? usually with a propritary machine such as Dell Gateway,HP,etc.. it is three and all they are are system restoration disks which are usless at best.

Budfred
03-05-2003, 07:05 PM
My HP came with only 2 disks and they are for restoring on my HP computer only. If your son tries to install he will just be politely told that he can't do it. Computer companies are the ones who set these up this way, but I am betting that MS probably requires it in exchange for discounting the price.

Grumper
03-05-2003, 07:51 PM
Thats why I wanted the Win 98 SE for my build just so that problem will be avoided.
Thanks Budfred.

Paul