PDA

View Full Version : Dell problem

humpy.net
04-15-2003, 04:41 AM
Hello there ladies and gentlemen. I am new to this discussion board and will endeavour to get to know you all in time.

For now, I am in a BIG spot of bother. I have a DELL Latitude C400 notebook, that requires an OS installation. I have not got some of the original components, as it was given to me after the carry bag with the accessories was stolen. I only have the notebook itself, a PCMCIA Teac External CD-ROM power supply and a spare battery. I need to be able to install Windows 2000 back onto it, and have no bootable devices. I am unable to get my hands on a floppy, as I don't have the cable to attatch an original one to the port. It is a slimline unit. In the boot options, it does not support USB floppy drives. And is also limited in other boot options thru CMOS.

I really would like to get this notebook back up and running as soon as possible, so I can enjoy the mobility of wireless networking etc.

Your help would be greatly appreciated. I have already tried hooking up the hard drive itself into a PC to get it to at least boot, but when it is placed back into the notebook, I get a "no operating system" message appear.

If anyone can help me here, it would be eternally appreciated.
Regards,
Humpy.

P.S. I am new to this discussion group, and may not be able tofind any postings, so feel free to email me directly.
Again, a million and one thanks for any help...:)

Rick
04-15-2003, 08:12 AM
Welcome to PcGuide and the forums

Two things strike me on this.
The first is the No O/S found after installing the drive in another system
I will assume you installed this laptop drive using one of the cable adapters allowing you to use a standard 40 pin ide cable

In doing so and allow it to boot the other system.
Was it installed as Master on the Primary Channel ?
Were the drive options in the Bios set to those used in the Laptop bios?

The drive must be marked as “Active” during the setup.