PDA

View Full Version : TSS LAN scores



killercow
12-11-2003, 08:57 PM
gese, forgot to post this awhile a go but here's some pwnage scores of mine from the Screen Savers LAN party. My name is "chamb3r".

http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/lanparty/jump/0,24331,3553314,00.html

Then next weeks halo will ownedd... try and play and post what games and names you will be using.

saphalline
12-16-2003, 02:33 AM
WOW! You got to be in the SS LAN party!? Boy, if only I lived in CA... *sigh* :rolleyes:

killercow
12-16-2003, 01:31 PM
Don't have to be in Cali. It's not really a LOCAL area network. More of a passworded invite only server. Sign up here (http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/lanparty/story/0,24330,3417717,00.html)

pave_spectre
12-17-2003, 01:07 AM
So I can take it from saph's response that the SS LAN is some kind of big deal in the gamer world?

And thats its more of an "online from anywhere" thing rather than a "Take your comp and show up at the appointed location"?

killercow
12-17-2003, 02:07 PM
Originally posted by pave_spectre
So I can take it from saph's response that the SS LAN is some kind of big deal in the gamer world?

And thats its more of an "online from anywhere" thing rather than a "Take your comp and show up at the appointed location"?

Not really big, if you are in the top five you get your name on live national tevevision. Quakecon is MUCH bigger, so is CPL's big $$$ LAN.

saphalline
12-17-2003, 05:34 PM
It's the national TV thing that I like. :D Plus I watch The Screen Savers when I can, and other Tech TV shows. It's not quite as technical as I like ;) but they have cool gadgets and other things to "ooh" and "ah" over. Unfortunately, I don't have the funds to keep up more than one gaming rig (and mine is barely hanging on right now, it will get better after the holidays) but if I ever win the lottery :rolleyes: I'm gonna make myself a LAN room!! I hear you can get a T1 line for as little as $400/month! :cool:

killercow
12-17-2003, 06:28 PM
I hear you can get a T1 line for as little as $400/month!

Wow, that's little! My school has one or two or several shared by around 200+ computers. Wondedr what it costs them:eek: . That would be awesome though:cool: .

pave_spectre
12-17-2003, 08:41 PM
I wish I could get T1 that cheap here!!:eek:

I cant can barely get a decent ADSL plan for less than $100 a month.:mad:
Damn Rip-Off Telstra!!:mad: :mad:

rond36
12-31-2003, 07:11 PM
A T1 line where I live coats $1750.00 a month + the cost of running cable to your location, if you have your own domain name and DNS and email server. If you use their services it costs extra.

A T3 costs $18000.00 a month + the cost of running fiber-optic cable to your location.

Depending on your location and the location of the nearest cable capable of supporting the bandwidth it could cost $100,000.00+ maybe as much as much as $250,000.00 to install underground cable.

From my house to the nearest fiber-optic cable is about 1 1/2 miles through the center of town.

killercow
12-31-2003, 08:13 PM
Wow, those are some insane prices. I really don't know the prices here.

rond36
12-31-2003, 09:32 PM
Those insane prices are the reason we get charged so much for DSL and cable internet.