PDA

View Full Version : Fastclick



funhousegroup
02-22-2004, 10:50 PM
Can anyone tell me why fast click seems to be redirecting me through one of thier sites every time I try to surf. I try to go to yahoo and at the bottom of the browser it shows such and such fastclick such ahd such. I hate spy ware.
FH

Budfred
02-22-2004, 11:29 PM
Sounds like you have been hijacked....

Time to run Spybot and/or AdAware, an updated virus scan and follow up with a HijackThis log posted here for analysis. I believe you know the procedure, but if not, be sure that you use updated versions of everything. I am not sure that all the links below work because of the problems with SpywareInfo, but you can at least get Spybot and AdAware from them or do an online virus scan....

If you don't know how to do any of these steps, post back before trying and we can give you more detail...

Paleo Pete
02-23-2004, 10:16 AM
If you only see it in the status bar at bottom, and still go to the webpage you wanted that's FastClick uploading ads to the website and dropping cookies to track your Internet usage. Not spyware since it's not actually software, but accomplishes the same thing.

FastClick is also apparently responsible for a lot of the pop-up/under advertising that plagues Internet users. Run the name through Google and I'm seeing nothing but glorified advertisements for them, while a year ago it would bring up a dozen spyware sites. FastClick, Doubleclick and Flyswat have all three been under fire for their use of tracking cookies for at least 3 years.
You can look around for ad-blocking software, or use a Hosts (http://www.accs-net.com/hosts/index.html) to block them the free way. You can also create if necessary and edit your own hosts file, but be careful.

And of course run the scanning utilities suggested above as well.

funhousegroup
02-23-2004, 12:26 PM
OK SO it sounds like you are saying that the problem most likely is in the Host file. I guess I will try DNS Kong and see if it works. First I will run spy bot and AVG.
THanks again, fh

ErnieK
02-24-2004, 04:52 AM
Funhouse
Go here
http://www.nsclean.com/freebies.html

And download 0click (Freeware) to see if this will help. set it to block. You can also control your hosts list from it as well.

Also a couple of other wee programs there you might find useful.

Paleo Pete
02-24-2004, 09:31 AM
OK SO it sounds like you are saying that the problem most likely is in the Host file


No, infact it probably doesn't even exist. The problem is Fastclick wants to sell information about you, so they are tracking you. The hosts file simply blocks access to their websites, cookies etc. RIght now, the hosts file is doing nothing, if it exists at all it has nothing in it but a line saying "127.0.0.1 localhost". That's your local loopback.

My win 98 machine for example, didn't have a hosts file, it had hosts.sam - sample file - and that's it. You have to use that file, download or create one, renaming hosts.sam to hosts with NO extension. I created my own, using the hosts.sam file that's already set up.

It works quite well, I have probably 100 sites or more I've added, they never load at all. Doubleclick, fastclick, flyswat, and a few others were entred manually before I ever got online with it. I have no cookies from any of them either.

Budfred
02-24-2004, 10:02 PM
Have you run the scans and are you planning to run HijackThis. If you have one hijacker, it is quite likely that you have a bunch of other garbage in there too.....

funhousegroup
02-25-2004, 10:22 AM
I wasw able to remedy the issue with Spy bot and AVG. I will be interested in editing my hosts file though. Very usefull information.
Thanks, fH

shanmuga
02-25-2004, 12:35 PM
<img src=http://img28.photobucket.com/albums/v83/shanmuga/yhoobookdp.gif>IMHO Paleo Pete got it right. Posting your HJT log will help you to get rid of any malware that afflicts your system otherwise.
I will be interested in editing my hosts file though. Download the hosts.zip from http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm OR http://webpages.charter.net/hpguru/hosts/hosts.html and extract it to

C:\WINDOWS ------------------------ if you are running win98
C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC ---if you are running win2k
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC if you are running win xp

"There is no need to install, turn on, or change any settings. Windows automatically looks for the existence of a HOSTS file and if found, checks the HOSTS file first for entries to the web page you just requested. The 127.0.0.1 is the location of your computer, so when the entry "ad.doubleclick.net" is requested your computer thinks 127.0.0.1 is the location of the file. When this file is not located it skips onto the next file and thus the ad server is blocked from loading the banner, Cookie, or some unscrupulous javascript file.

In case you're wondering ... this all happens in microseconds, which is much faster than trying to fetch a file from half way around the world." mvps.org