PDA

View Full Version : no screensaver??????????



jimmybot
02-28-2004, 07:28 AM
running win 98.for some reason when my screensaver is suppose to kick in the screen just turns black.screensaver is selected in properties but it wont come on.any ideas???thanks

YODA74
02-28-2004, 07:43 AM
do you get any kind of fatal exemption errors? Which screen saver is this?
How old are the video drivers?

jimmybot
02-28-2004, 07:50 AM
no errors.its just the 3d text saver that comes with 98.dont know how old video drivers are.

Budfred
02-28-2004, 08:07 AM
Have you tried selecting a different screen saver?? What happens when you tap a key or move the mouse, so it go back to Windoze and is Windoze stable??

jimmybot
02-28-2004, 08:11 AM
all screensavers are the same.when i tap the mouse it goes back to windows.when in properties,when i click preview for screen saver,everything seems ok.

jimmybot
02-28-2004, 08:21 AM
would the power management properties settings have something to do with this problem??

Budfred
02-28-2004, 10:18 AM
Power management could be a problem, it could be going into Standby instead of the screensaver. Also, it could be that your screensaver are corrupt and that would suggest malware. Have you run security scans???

jimmybot
02-28-2004, 11:03 PM
have run spybot s&d and adaware.picked up 8 items with adaware.still the same though.

Budfred
02-28-2004, 11:08 PM
It may be a good idea to download and run HijackThis then. You can download it through the link below, but you may have to use the LurkHere download site given on that page. To run HJT, extract it to a permanent folder such as C:\Documents or one you create like C:\HJT. Close all programs you have opened and make sure that all programs are enabled if you use msconfig. Run it and Scan, then Save the log. When the log window appears, Right click to Copy it, open your browser and come here to Paste the log. Do not make any changes until it is checked since most items are either benign or essential to the computer.

shanmuga
02-29-2004, 12:27 AM
It could also be a DirectX problem, if DirectX is not installed properly or if one or more DirectX files are missing or damaged. Start > run > dxdiag to run the directx diagnostics. You may need to download and install the latest version of DirectX.

jimmybot
02-29-2004, 08:25 AM
here is the log file


Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 8:11:58 AM, on 02/29/2004
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MUSICMATCH\MUSICMATCH JUKEBOX\MM_TRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\DOWNLOADS\SOFTWARE DOWNLOADS\INCREDIMAIL\INCREDIMAIL\INCREDIMAIL\BIN\ INCMAIL.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\HJT\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Canada Companion - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN\YCOMP5_3_11_0. DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MMTray] C:\Program Files\MUSICMATCH\MUSICMATCH Jukebox\mm_tray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - https://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37875.7065740741
O16 - DPF: {C81B5180-AFD1-41A3-97E1-99E8D254DB98} (CSS Web Installer Class) - http://www.freedom.net/viruscenter/onlineviruscheck/cabs/cssweb.cab
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinstc.cab
O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/vc/bin/AvSniff.cab
O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5} (Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {9732FB42-C321-11D1-836F-00A0C993F125} (mhLabel Class) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/mhLbl.cab
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (PCPitstop Utility) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: Toki Toki Boom - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/vtm_x.cab
O16 - DPF: JT's Blocks - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/blt1_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Towers 2.0 - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/ywt0_x.cab
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

Budfred
02-29-2004, 08:59 AM
Your log looks clean... Next step is probably to look at the DirectX issue that shanmuga referred to...

Paleo Pete
02-29-2004, 09:23 AM
Check the Power Management settings. Power management should turn off monitor AFTER the screensaver kicks in. If it turns off monitor before screensaver, it can lock up Windows.

I don't use screensavers, except on my Mandrake machine so it can password the desktop, with Windows I set APM to turn off monitor after 15 minutes, standby "never", hard drive "Never". Screensavers actually aren't necessary with SVGA monitors, since they don't "burn in" like CGA did. These days screensavers are for nothing but eye candy. Also they use more power than sitting idle.

If you want to use a screensaver, you can either set APM to power down the monitor a few minutes after the screensaver takes over, or turn it off altogether.

jimmybot
02-29-2004, 07:39 PM
thanks paleo pete.monitor was set to shut off before screensaver kicked in.a-ok now.thanks all