PDA

View Full Version : Windows Slowdown



Erik
03-22-2004, 12:32 AM
I just reformatted my hard drive, and reinstalled a fresh copy of Windows XP Home Edition. It has been taking just a bit longer than previously to return form the screen saver and for my desktop to load when I first logon. Already ran an up to date AVG scan, Spybot scan and Adaware scan. All came back clean, except for Adaware which found some tracking cookies in my temporary internet files folder, which I hadn't emptied yet. It is really a very minor annoyance, but I would like to get it fixed up if I can. Here is what I got when I ran HijackThis:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 12:26:24 AM, on 3/22/2004
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\acsd.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\taskmgr.exe
C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0\waol.exe
C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0\shellmon.exe
C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0\aolwbspd.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Erik\My Documents\Downloads\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.bladeforums.com/
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SmcService] C:\PROGRA~1\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe -startgui
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: Microsoft WFC Forms Designer - file://E:\VJ98\wfcforms.cab
O16 - DPF: Visual Studio 6 Extensibility Libraries - file://E:\VJ98\vstudio6.cab
O16 - DPF: {3EB4F9EA-51A6-48DA-846A-0D69DCBA39EF} (DownloadManager Control) - http://download.akamaitools.com.edgesuite.net/dlmanager/live/code/DownloadManager.ocx
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?38066.7152430556
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{87220C4B-21A5-40A6-9DE1-EBB782E05E8D}: NameServer = 205.188.146.146

I don't see anything that pops out as alarmingly wrong, but I am pretty sure I don't need the download manager to be there. Thanks for any help.

PrntRhd
03-22-2004, 01:11 AM
The easiest way to speed up XP is to go to :blackviper (http://www.blackviper.com) site and turn off unneeded services per his lists of configurations.

shanmuga
03-22-2004, 01:43 AM
Your log looks clean of malware, the only item you may be able to safely remove from loading at startup is ctfmon.exe which is involved with the language/alternative input services in Office XP. CTFMON.exe will continue to put itself back into MSConfig when you run the Office XP apps as long as the Text Services and Speech applets in the Control Panel are enabled. Not required if you don't need these features. It can be disabled from Control Panel,Regional and Language Options.

The blackviper site will help you to prune the services loading at startup as mentioned in the above post.

Edit: More on how to remove ctfmon here (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;282599)

Erik
03-26-2004, 02:25 PM
I found the problem, and it wasn't anything obvious either. In my attempt to setup the system and get it as lean and mean as possible I deleted some things that were installed along with my video card driver, or at least I thought them to be excess. Turns out for some strange reason I needed them, even though they are not part of the driver.

I did also go and do all of the tweaks on Black Viper's site, and now everything is running great.

PrntRhd
03-26-2004, 09:32 PM
Cool, thanks for posting back.
:D