PDA

View Full Version : Okay to replace Windows Explorer with a copy?



Dinosaur
03-25-2004, 12:17 PM
Windows Explorer is malfunctioning on a Gateway system running Windows 98. Right click on a filename causes system to hang. Apparently Windows Explorer responds to Right Click on a Desk Top Icon, because that also causes system to hang.

I am thinking of copying my Windows Explorer executable file to a diskette and replacing the Explorer.exe file on the other system. That system is owned by an intelligent but computer illiterate person. They do not have a Windows Install CD, Motherboard manual, et cetera. I wonder if Gateway ever gave them such items.

I intend to rename the Explorer.exe before copying my version to that system. If it does not work, I will delete the new version and rename the original .exe file. I cannot imagine this scenario causing additional problems, but OS software is so complex, I wonder if there might be some anomaly in the Gateway system. I think the two versions of Windows 98 are the same, but Gateway, Dell, and others are known to have weird proprietary software & BIOS firmware.

ski
03-25-2004, 01:01 PM
Before proceeding with your plan, update the system's AV program with the latest files and do a virus search, and also run Ad-aware, Spybot, and CWShredder to remove any spyware.

If the problem persists, then see if Explorer works ok in Safe mode.
If it's ok there, then do a clean boot to troubleshoot the problem:
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q192926

If the problem also happens in Safe mode, then right click on 'My Computer', click Properties, and check the Windows version on both systems. It should be 4.10.1998 if it's the Win 98 1st edition, and I believe 4.10.2222A for Windows 98SE(2nd Edition).
If the versions are the same, then you can proceed with your plan to replace the explorer.exe file. But you will probably have to do it at a DOS command outside of Windows since this file is being used when Windows is running, and it will not allow you to replace it.

mjc
03-25-2004, 02:34 PM
But you will probably have to do it at a DOS command outside of Windows

No probably about it, it must be done in DOS, not even in a DOS window.

In other words hit f8 while booting, bring up the menu and select Command prompt and make the switch there, then reboot.

Sylvander
03-25-2004, 04:24 PM
Explorer may not be the problem.

I've just used "File Monitor" to record the file accesses made for the purpose of building the [right-click] context menu from info held in the registry. I'd paste it here but its too big. Perhaps bits of it will do?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 18:59:28 Explorer GetDiskInfo D: SUCCESS Free Space
2 18:59:30 Explorer Read D:\WIN386.SWP SUCCESS Offset: 9646080 Length: 4096
5 18:59:30 Explorer Read C:\PROGRA~1\ERASER\ERASEXT.DLL SUCCESS Offset: 159744 Length: 2048
6 18:59:30 Explorer Attributes C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\TEMPLATE.DOT SUCCESS GetAttributes
7 18:59:30 Explorer Attributes C:\PROGRA~1\ULTIMA~1.7\UZSHLEX.DLL SUCCESS GetAttributes
9 18:59:30 Explorer Open C:\PROGRAM FILES\ULTIMATEZIP 2.7\UZSHLEX.DLL SUCCESS OPENEXISTING READONLY DENYNONE
192 18:59:31 Explorer Attributes C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL SUCCESS GetAttributes
498 18:59:31 Explorer FindOpen C:\PROGRAM FILES\ULTIMATEZIP 2.7\CONTEXT.BMP SUCCESS context.bmp
1012 18:59:33 Explorer Attributes C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSE.DLL SUCCESS GetAttributes
1079 18:59:33 Vsmon Read D:\WIN386.SWP SUCCESS Offset: 25010176 Length: 4096
1087 18:59:33 Explorer Open C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WZSHLEXT.DLL SUCCESS OPENEXISTING READONLY DENYNONE
1150 18:59:33 Explorer Open C:\WINDOWS\WINZIP32.INI SUCCESS OPENEXISTING READONLY DENYNONE
1177 18:59:33 Explorer Attributes C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OEFFNENMITEX.DLL SUCCESS GetAttributes
1192 18:59:33 Vsmon Attributes C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OEFFNENMITEX.DLL SUCCESS GetAttributes
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Explorer is almost alone, but not quite, in being the program making the accesses, but what if the problem was caused by the inability to access those files listed?