PDA

View Full Version : Random XP crashing

craig s
03-27-2004, 12:29 PM
I have a crashing problem.

I'm new to discusion groups, so please by patient. I'm not even sure I'm at the right forum.

I have a store brand PC with XP Home that's 15 months old -- lots of memory and lots of speed. (I have a confession, it's my first PC after a lifetime of a Macs.) A few months ago it started randomly shutting down and rebooting all on its own. It usually takes two or three reboots before it restablizes. It'll be fine for several days, then start up again. (I just finished two "seizures" this morning.)

The computer has been very reliable and stable till this. The only software that ever crashes is Microsoft Word. (Even after all these years they can't get that right.) And only hardware problem I have is sometimes the CD burner won't burn. A shut down and restart always fixes that.

I use all the anti-virus scans and latest patches -- I think. I better, I subscribed to it! I've run defrag, clean disk, and software check.

People have suggested that I need to a clean install ---- Whoa! I hope not!

People have suggested the mother board is going --- Whoa, I don't like that either.

People have suggested that a driver needs to be checked and reinstalled. I like that one because of my burner problem. But I don't know how to check them. (The Word crashes is not a suspect, because it does it on my Dell laptop, too.)

People have suggested I have a virsus --- maybe, but wouldn't it have really done me in by now?

Any suggestions? Or suggestions where to go? (no wise cracks, please) I don't like the idea of randomly trying costly and/or time consuming trial and errors "guesses".

Thanks,
Craig

ski
03-27-2004, 12:47 PM
Possible causes:

-Everything not completely seated on the motherboard.
Reseat everything.

-Overheating
Check the system and CPU's temps either in BIOS or with temperature monitoring software.