PDA

View Full Version : Stop errors, windows lock up



crfred
04-12-2004, 09:33 PM
I was balancing my checkbook in MSmoney and my computer locked up on me. When I tried to restart, it locked up again. It won't start in safe mode, last good configuration, etc. It locks up every time I try to start it. I haven't installed anything new and I've already unplugged all peripheral devices. Sometimes I get the DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL error message on a blue screen with the filename atapi.sys?? listed at the bottom. Usually though, it just locks up. Tech support for my computer told me I would have to restore my hard drive. Are there any other options?? Help please!

Whyzman
04-12-2004, 09:45 PM
<marquee behavior="alternate" scrollamount="20" loop="3" width="50%">Hello crfred,</marquee>

<marquee behavior="slide" scrollamount="20" loop="3" width="50%">Welcome tohttp://www.pcguide.com/ubb/pcgubb.gif Forums!</marquee>

Are you locking up in Windoze??

What I would suggest is getting a copy of the harddrive diagnostics for your harddrive. This can be obtained from the harddrive manufacturer's web site...This gets in before Windoze is installed and will let you know if there are problems...

Try that first...Also, are you running any Anti-Virus?? Is it updated??

ErnieK
04-13-2004, 04:14 AM
crfred
Here is aGoogle search for your problem. It seems that this problem can be due to faulty RAM.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=error+10+at+sector+0+ascq+00&btnG=Search

shanmuga
04-13-2004, 05:01 AM
Since that error DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL is referencing atapi.sys, which is the CD driver, you may want to run the recovery console and expand a new copy of the file. Alternatively you can try running Recovery Console, and allow the system to repair any errors that it detects. Also try this, boot from xp cd , select repair. When c: prompt comes up type - CHKDSK and press enter . wait until it finishes scan . At the next c: prompt type- FIXBOOT.

HOW TO: Install and Use the Recovery Console in Windows XP (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;307654)

crfred
04-13-2004, 11:01 AM
I don't have an XP disk, it came installed on my computer. Would it be possible to move the hard drive to another computer and backup my data before restoring??