PDA

View Full Version : What do I need for wireless internet at home?

KYRocker22
09-06-2004, 05:09 PM
I am kinda new to computers so I'll do my best to describe what I want to do.
I have a desktop pc and I just ordered a laptop. I want to be able to connect to the internet on my laptop without having a cable running from my laptop to my DSL gateway. My DSL Gateway is wireless ready. What do I need to buy to make this happen?

I also want to setup a network between my laptop and desktop pc.

If anyone can help me out please do I have no idea what I need to do.

PrntRhd
09-06-2004, 08:31 PM
You need a wireless access point, which your DSL gateway will provide.
You can stay wired to the gateway for your desktop.
What OS is on the desktop? What OS is on the new laptop?

KYRocker22
09-07-2004, 09:53 AM
Both have windows XP home addition.

deddard
09-07-2004, 10:26 AM
Windoze XP has a wireless configuration utility built in, and it's pretty stable, so it shouldn't be too tough to get going. Without knowing the details of your equipment, we can't go through the exact procedures for setting up or securing (which you need to do) but general rules of thumb are:

Stick with one manufacturer - they don't always play nice otherwise:D
You can check out compatible cards from different manufacturers at http://www.wi-fi.org/
Once you have all your equipment: READ the manual - something which is overlooked, but can save a lot of headaches!
Once you're up and running:
Use encryption - the strongest you can (WPA should be the minimum)
Change the default settings including the SSID (the name of the wireless network), password and administrator name if possible.
There are other points, like switching off the SSID broadcast, using MAC address filtering, disabling the ability to configure the access point from wireless cards etc, but you need to sit down with a cup of tea and digest the manual before going in here;)

KYRocker22
09-07-2004, 08:01 PM