PDA

View Full Version : Free iPods?


ixl
11-11-2004, 12:25 PM
Has anyone heard before of that site that is giving away free iPods in exchange for signing up for an offer and getting 10 referrals? Has anyone actually gotten an iPod from them?

Normally I would run far, far away from such an obvious pyramid-type scheme but I saw it written up in the BBC. I was curious and did sign up for this one. I figured I haven't got much to lose. Just wondering if anyone else has done this and gotten their product.

(I'm not going to post my referral link here as I don't want to set a bad precedent for others. If you are interested in joining too, you can PM me for it I guess. Proceed at your own risk. ;)) --c

pentachris
11-11-2004, 12:54 PM
Yes, people have actually gotten them. My take on it is that the pyramid has reached "critical mass" - most people who are going to join in by clicking a referral link have already joined in. Many people who haven't already joined in, but who might be interested in joining in, will prolly just go straight to the website without a referral.

Also, they're having a problem keeping up with demand. Some people who are entitled to free ipods are waiting months to get them - especially the minis.

I went to the site and started the process a few weeks ago. When I got to the last few pages of forms and realized that I was going to have to actually buy 2 products from a list of products I wasn't really interested in, and x number of other people referred by me were going to have to do the same thing, I crapped out (really angry at myself that I'd already put in all my demographic data... :mad: )

Link you may find interesting. (http://www.forbes.com/technology/feeds/general/2004/09/23/generalmacobserver_2004_09_23_eng-macobserver_eng-macobserver_091625_2983688030625856341.html?partne r=yahoo&referrer=)

ixl
11-11-2004, 01:15 PM
Thanks Chris.

Well.. I usually don't do these things because I am not a big believer in free lunches. And because I figure by the time I hear of it, it's probably too late. I guess we'll see. ;) --c

omni
11-15-2004, 01:01 AM
The question often comes up about offers like the free iPods. It seems to me that some of thoes sites are legit and some are not. Through research in many forums, websites, and news articles I have compiled a list of sites that I am currently self testing for validity.

Freeipods.com, run by Gratis Internet LLC, has been mentioned in many many news stories from Wired News to the, as you said, BBC. Gratis Internet also runs a few other sites built around the same concept.

So, most offers require you to complete 1 offer, and that you refer 5 people to their site and that they each complete 1 offer in order to recieve your 'free' gift. Some sites, however, require as little as 3 referrals, and some as many as 10 referrals.

The offers that you can complete on their sites range from free trials to credit cards that require that you use them to get credit. I personally like the Real Arcade offer that several sites have, which is a 30day trial that you get credit for within 24hours, after which simply cancel.


Anyhow, I hope this clears up some questions. Secondly, if posting about this topic or links to such sites are not wanted on this board please tell me as it has nothing about it in the FAQ or rules.


If you do want to see more detalied information about these sites please check out my website which has a full list of the referral sites that I believe to be legitimate.
Thanks for looking,
Webmaster, www.AboutFreeOffers.com (http://www.AboutFreeOffers.com)

omni
11-17-2004, 11:35 AM
For thoes of you who think the referral amounts are impossible here's a little interesting information.

www.ipods-free.com (http://www.ipods-free.com?referer_id=551)
is offering iPods for only 3 referrals for the first 2000 sign ups.. sign up now before they change it to 5 referrals!

This is the easiest, most valuable iPod offer out there right now.
Unfortunately, they are currently 'down for maintenence' - I assume it will be back up in a few hours.
(There is also another site listed on my website offering game consoles for only 3 referrals.. mine will be on the way shortly. woohoo!)

Thanks for reading,
Webmaster, www.AboutFreeOffers.com

ixl
11-17-2004, 12:51 PM
The one I am on requires 10 referrals. It appears the joke is on me because despite all the people I Know online, so far I have only managed to procure 4. :) --c

Fruss Tray Ted
11-17-2004, 07:16 PM
Omni,
Your link is down for maintenance Yeah, right! :mad:

ixl, what do I get in kickbacks for signing under you? *evil-grin*

regulate103
11-18-2004, 01:38 PM
The ones I am signed up for require 5 referrals. Here is a page that gives details and proof that these programs work:

http://home.comcast.net/~jj.martino/

I have been giving gmail invites and paypal donations to the people who signed up under me. It does require work (to get referrals), but you will get the free equipment if you keep on it.

(Links deleted --ixl)

Budfred
11-18-2004, 08:20 PM
ixl,

I fear you may have opened the floodgates.... :eek:

Paleo Pete
11-19-2004, 01:03 AM
Hmmm...tough call, but I'm going to let this one stand, against my better judgement, and because Ixl hasn't already cut it short. If this was from a member we know, with more than one post, I wouldn't think much of it actually...but if regulate103 posts one more referrer link that is outside this thread and does not pertain to the topic discussed in this thread, it will be in the bit bucket in 30 seconds.

ixl
11-19-2004, 10:33 AM
Thanks Pete.. but I did decide to remove those links. If you look back to my first post in this thread, you'll see I wrote this: "I'm not going to post my referral link here as I don't want to set a bad precedent for others." Apparently that was too subtle for certain people so I will make it more explicit that I don't want to start with the links here, because it will never stop.

Fruss: I'm going to make everyone who helps me get my free iPod a moderator! Sign up now! ;) --c

pave_spectre
11-19-2004, 11:14 PM
I'm going to make everyone who helps me get my free iPod a moderator! Sign up now! ;) --c

Such a shame that I have abslutely no use for an Ipod! :p

ixl
11-19-2004, 11:29 PM
Such a shame that I have abslutely no use for an Ipod!

No no.. you don't have to get one. You just sign up for one of their services and then help me get an iPod! And then you get made a moderator, what a deal!

(Yes, I am kidding, in case anyone couldn't tell. But if anyone DOES want to help me get that iPod I certainly won't complain. ;) ) --c

regulate103
11-20-2004, 01:15 AM
I see my referral links were removed. I'm sorry if this was outside the message board policy. The main point is that these programs do work. I have a number of friends who have already received the free stuff. Some people are worried about spam for signing up. I haven't received any noticeable difference in spam since I joined these company offers. If that is a concern, simply get a free yahoo email. I have heard that iPods are taking longer to ship for these offers because they are on backorder with Apple. It is understandable since iPods seem to be taking over the market lately (especially for the holidays). This company is also offering other free stuff that may arrive quicker. I am only signed up for their iPods though. I may give the others a try later. If anyone has had luck with the other programs please let us know. I noticed on the freeipods.com site that one offer is 14 day free trial of Rhapsody (legit music download service). I would highly recommend this service if you join one of these sites. I pay $10 a month for Rhapsody myself. They have almost everything I like to listen to.

This is the company's site:

http://www.gratisnetwork.com/

These are the other known programs (notice the Gratis logo at the bottom of the screen):

http://www.freeflatscreens.com/

http://www.freehandbags.com/

ixl
11-20-2004, 01:25 PM
It's not a problem regulate. I removed the links because the problem with posting those links on a board like this is the following. Someone clicks your link and helps you out. Then of course they want to post their link and get others to help them. Pretty soon the place is overrun with links.

Of course, it's a small community and this means only the first few people will actually get their free product, everyone else will have to look elsewhere. So I figured it would be better if we didn't start.

Anyone who wants is of course free to PM you if they want to sign up (as they can do for me as well. ;) ) --c

sunchao
01-12-2005, 12:45 AM
I think it' impossible...

sockmonster2
01-27-2005, 02:52 PM
HEY **** **** **** YOU ALL SMELL LIKE ****ING **** YOU *******S!

ixl, i think this has been hacked. You did not say that and it showed up when i went to quote you. I am not sure what is going on, and i thot u should know before it happens again.

Fruss Tray Ted
01-27-2005, 03:55 PM
mods notified.

Sockmonster, it doesn't happen for me. What do you take us for? Idiots?

Get a life. 2 posts and they're both derogatory...

ixl
01-27-2005, 05:49 PM
Looks like someone got to this already.

I'm going to close this thread too before any more problems ensue.

c