PDA

View Full Version : popup?


Mark Miller
11-15-2004, 10:16 PM
I just got this when I logged on
Is it from us or am I getting stupid stuff because i just added desktop sidebar?
I can't put the link up but it was from something called xuppa

jabarnutcase
11-16-2004, 12:18 AM
Mark...I sure haven't seen anything like that around here.
You may want to look a little closer at that "cool sidebar". ;)

As far as xuppa, if you haven't searched already, the link below might tell you where they're at. :p
http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&q=xuppa

"Webmail, Horoscopes, Weather, News, Blog, Jobs, Dating".
Man! they've got it all! :p

Mark Miller
11-16-2004, 12:31 AM
I betcha it's the sidebar.
Strange I got this from another forum that is very similar to this and it was on the lead page of the forum.
Well so much for that, the sidebar is out of here. the ad I got looked very much like the xuppa page.
Thanks Jab

PrntRhd
11-16-2004, 01:59 AM
I am pleased to say the newest FireFox 1.0 seems to have killed that one little phamacy popup problem I was having with 1.0PR.
:D :p :D

Mark Miller
11-21-2004, 06:49 PM
Okay,
I just got the xuppa pop-up again and I took the sidebar off days ago.
This is with the firefox browser also. The pop-up was blocked but I was surprised to see it when I came to the Pc guide site
??????

PrntRhd
11-21-2004, 07:24 PM
The Xuppa popup is coming up as an uncaught Java exception, if that helps. The 1.0 FF gold is not letting it through so far.
:D

Fruss Tray Ted
11-21-2004, 08:07 PM
Mark,
Were you online for awhile prior to clicking on pcg and getting the pop-up? Sometimes,,, background processes go on behind your back and can run unnoticed for a-ways. Jus' letting your A/V prog slip jus' one Thyme though, and you're done four! :p

Mark Miller
11-21-2004, 08:39 PM
Hey guys,
PrntRhd, I'm not sure what you mean, the pop-up was blocked, but why is it coming up on this site [no other] And what is a java exception?
Ftt, no I was just getting online [always come here first :) ]
Not sure either what this would have to do with anti-virus.
this is the second or third time this has happened and I was just curious as to why here.
Mark :confused:

PrntRhd
11-22-2004, 12:02 AM
I'm not sure what you mean, the pop-up was blocked, but why is it coming up on this site [no other] And what is a java exception?
I mean I no longer am getting the actual popup with this version of Firefox browser, but I was with 1.0PR version.
I found it is trying to use Java to do its thing by finding it in JavaScript Console in Firefox tools, it came up with an uncaught exception there in both FF versions.

Mark Miller
11-22-2004, 12:15 AM
Thanks for explanation
Weird though same pop-up only on this site, not every time and it is getting blocked
Oh well

ixl
11-22-2004, 09:42 AM
Xuppa is an ad network .. if you are getting pops from them they are coming from the main (non-forums) part of the site. You shouldn't be getting them here though... --c

Budfred
11-22-2004, 11:17 AM
Mark Miller,

It sounds like you may need to do an HJT log....

PrntRhd
11-22-2004, 12:12 PM
ixl:
Xuppa is an ad network .. if you are getting pops from them they are coming from the main (non-forums) part of the site. You shouldn't be getting them here though... --c
I agree, I was finding it occasionally popping up when I purged my browser cache from the main site. (which happened to be my homepage for FF).
The popups probably would not come up if the /vb site was homepage.

Mark Miller
11-22-2004, 03:10 PM
Hi Budfred,
Actually I am pretty sure my computer is clean as these were just pop-ups that were blocked and I opened them to see what they were.
I also did a search for xuppa on my computer and except for the pop-up links there was nothing there.
thanks anyway.
Actually i was getting them from the main page and not from going to forum site.
thanks Charles
Mark

PCMan
11-26-2004, 05:39 PM
Hey Mark Miller,
You probably already do, but do you run a spyware checker on your computer? If it was that sidebar they often leave behind little trinkets ;) I would run a spyware check if you haven't already. I recomend Spybot S&D and AD-Aware. Just a thought because I don't get any popups from this site, so it could be on your machine.

Mark Miller
11-26-2004, 06:17 PM
Thanks for question but no it was a run of the mill pop-up.
I run sybot and ad aware and as I said it was blocked.
Ixl explained that it was coming from main oage and not the forum site itself.
Have not gotten them all the time but the reason I brought it up was that in almost 2 1/2 years never had gotten any.
This was on the firefox browser also not ie.
Mark :)