mjc
01-15-2002, 11:18 AM
For sometime now I have noticed that on occasion ZA syas I am getting alot of scans ot one particular port (TCP1214)...well after receiving 19 of them in about an 1 1/2 hrs this morning I decided to investigate. It seems that two very popular file sharing programs (Kazaa and Morpehous) use that port and that periodically someone will use those programs to look for music to download and quite often that looking will just be over a block of addresses. So there is no secret conspiracy out there, no Trojan using that one (I think a yet should be added to that...), just some desparate soul searching for some obscure song that no-one seems to have (yeah,right, and I have some nice oceanfront properity....just outside of Tuscon that I can let go really cheap..... http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif ). But in all seriousness, it is not really something to worry about , it is someone using a very popular program for some not so nefarious purpose.....
------------------
mjc
Links list:Computer Links (http://www.dreamwater.org/tech/mjc/index.htm)
Celts are the men that heaven made mad, For all their battles are merry and their songs are all sad.
------------------
mjc
Links list:Computer Links (http://www.dreamwater.org/tech/mjc/index.htm)
Celts are the men that heaven made mad, For all their battles are merry and their songs are all sad.