PDA

View Full Version : Mushkin, anybody?



i an not a nerd
04-16-2005, 11:32 PM
Has anyone ever heard of a brand called Mushkin? Is it any good?

bassman
04-16-2005, 11:50 PM
I am not personaly experienced with it but I have seen it recommended here several times along side of Cricial.

EDIT You beat me Saph, but, I think you should see THIS (http://www.mushkin.com/epages/mushkin.storefront) ;)

saphalline
04-16-2005, 11:50 PM
Mushkin is really good, but they don't make modules anymore, just the RAM chips. Back in the days of DRAM, FPM, and EDO, they were making 50ns chips while everyone else was still making 60 & 70ns chips. They're a high quality manufacturer that only the "PC historians" remember! :p :D

saphalline
04-16-2005, 11:52 PM
Ha! I beat you by like 3 seconds!! ;)

i an not a nerd
04-17-2005, 12:01 AM
They don't make them anymore? I see it all over thier website!

saphalline
04-17-2005, 12:44 AM
Ok, nevermind! :p I thought they got out of the module business but I guess not! Wow, I haven't seen a Mushkin module in years...

Whyzman
04-17-2005, 01:01 AM
ASUS motherboards, often noted for being finicky RAM connoisseurs, recommend Mushkin...;)

Bullman
04-17-2005, 01:12 AM
I have heard good things about Mushkin (Munchkin as my son calls it) :D . Actually I just ordered 3 from Newegg for the upgrade I am doing on my HP. Here (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproductdesc.asp?description=20-146-219&DEPA=0) is the link to it. I think right now it is a pretty good price. I hope they work good in the Asus Mobo I ordered. I will let you guys know in a few days. :)

i an not a nerd
04-17-2005, 12:37 PM
Does the Mushkin RAM only work in certain mobos? I'm planning on putting it in the MSI neo4platinum SLI.

saphalline
04-19-2005, 01:01 AM
Mushkin RAM is like any other name brand RAM. It's standard, and should work in just about any standard mobo. I wouldn't worry about putting it in an MSI mobo.

i an not a nerd
04-19-2005, 01:16 PM
Thats odd. I seem to remember reading somewhere about how it can be damaged by certain mobos...

Ah well. Thanks!

Whyzman
04-19-2005, 02:39 PM
Perhaps a study funded by Crucial? :D

i an not a nerd
04-19-2005, 07:20 PM
Lol! Nice one!

Bullman
04-22-2005, 12:34 AM
Well I recieved the Mushkin Ram that I ordered, but I could not get it to work in my Asus board. It would not Post nor would it even let me get into bios. I put it into my sons Gigabyte board and it did the same exact thing. I now have it in my Dell Dimension 4500 and it is working fine. Just thought I would let you know how it worked for me. I am going to do some more tests this weekend and see if I can find a fix. :D

i an not a nerd
04-22-2005, 12:43 AM
Thanks Bullman.

Whyzman
04-22-2005, 12:55 AM
Have you tried clearing the CMOS? You might want to try that and then see if you can get it to POST...

saphalline
04-22-2005, 01:15 AM
Have you tried manually setting the timings? Do some testing with that vs SPD, and also with different slots.