PDA

View Full Version : Hijack This Users Read This!


PrntRhd
04-22-2005, 03:26 PM
This is from the site of the author of HiJackThis:
Just a short note on the domain HIJACK-THIS.NET: this is not mine! It has been registered by XoftSpy (who are also on the Rogue Antispyware List on SpywareWarrior.com) and they are luring people into downloading their software believing it is HijackThis. Also, they have registered a few AdWords at Google leading to the same result. I have contacted them about this and received no reply (how surprising). Google can't do much about it since there is no copyright being breached. We'll see where this goes.
This is extremely nasty, doing Google paid search for HijackThis could get you a load of spyware instead of removing it.
USE THE REAL SITES LIKE
http://www.merijn.org/

Budfred
04-22-2005, 08:52 PM
I am afraid that most people who need to see this won't, but thank you for posting it... It helps to know that HijackThis is one word... :)

Jiggy
04-22-2005, 09:01 PM
I play alot of online gaming and im now going to post a link to this post on the clan forum.

PrntRhd
04-23-2005, 12:56 AM
It also helps if I spell Merijn correctly.
:rolleyes:

halovivek
04-23-2005, 01:04 AM
[B][I]Thank you for posting

pop pop
04-30-2005, 03:51 PM
Merijn got the site taken down as of yesterday.

http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/index.html

pangea33
07-05-2005, 10:59 PM
I know this thread is kind of old, but I am really gunshy about running stuff on my machine now. Can you please reassure me that the following link is to the real deal, and not the bad guys? :D

http://www.merijn.org/htlogtutorial.html

Thanks for your help

pop pop
07-05-2005, 11:18 PM
It's the real deal.

Fruss Tray Ted
07-05-2005, 11:19 PM
Yes. That is the real McCoy. Anything Merijn.org is good stuff.

pangea33
07-05-2005, 11:34 PM
Thanks again for the quickness, as always.

If only my tax returns could come back so fast :)

PrntRhd
07-10-2005, 11:49 PM
I am going to un-sticky this as the threat seems to have passed with Google removing the advertisement for the rogue site.