PDA

View Full Version : Dell memory replacement



Big Daddy
08-24-2005, 01:40 PM
I have a Dell Inspiron 2600. I added a 256 MB memory stick to the system last year (replacing a 128MB stick). Now I want to add another 256. The problem is how do you replace the "standard" memory module, the original 128 MB? I read that there is suppose to be 2 memory slots but after adding the 256, I notice only 1 slot. The original 128 is not suppose to be permanent (built into the motherboard) but removeable. In fact, Dell states to get the notebook upto 512 MB, you must you remove the standard memory module. How do you remove the standard memory module? Do you have to buy a special 256MB memory module or can it be replaced with a regular 144-pin stick?

classicsoftware
08-24-2005, 06:05 PM
You need to contact the Award Winning Service and Support you get from Dell.

Rick
08-24-2005, 10:09 PM
Here is a Link to the dell support page for the 2600
http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins2600/en/sm_en/upgrades.htm#1000098

As you can see it does in fact have ONLY 1 memory mod.

Rick
08-24-2005, 10:14 PM
If you go to the web site you can also look for the system exposed view and find the internal chip

ErnieK
08-25-2005, 04:19 AM
When you eventually get round to buying the mem have a look at CRUCIAL as they will more than likely be a fair bit cheaper than Dell for the memory.

Follow the link and look for the section of thier site where you insert the make and model of your computer and it will bring up the required mem and prices.
http://www.crucial.com/

EDIT:
Here is the direct link for memory for you and the price.
http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.asp?Mfr%2BProductline=Dell%2BInspiron&mfr=Dell&tabid=CR&model=Inspiron+2600+Series&submit=Go

Big Daddy
08-25-2005, 11:16 AM
It looks like I have to take thing apart to replace the memory in the first slot. Thanks for all the help and the link. The link was very helpful. I would have never found it on their wonderful easy to use website......

ErnieK
08-25-2005, 01:30 PM
Do I detect a wee hint of sarcasm?

123456
08-25-2005, 01:33 PM
I certainly do. I remember trying to find support for my Dimension 8200 and I just ended up emailing them 24/7 instsead of taking a few weeks to navigate through their site.