PDA

View Full Version : a web site which clicks A drive???


beginner33
06-01-2002, 11:05 AM
Hi,

I was searching about art and there was this web site titled
*Suggested Watercolor Supplies* on MSN search.

As soon as I hit the link, strangely enough,
the Floppy drive started clicking...

I got scared and closed the window and got off line ASAP.
I thouhgt of Trojan but it's confirmed the web site does it
as it happened again when I accidently clicked on the same link.

Could someone please fill me in what this could be?

Thank you very much http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif

mjc
06-01-2002, 11:48 AM
<a href="file:///A:/regformnh.htm#Registration Form">Go To... and several more. It looks like maybe this page was/is part of a course that comes on disk and they did not change the links when the put it on the Web...that also makes the navigation links at the bottom of the page dead links. Or when making the page the person did not change the link from a local file to a page on the Web. So in this case it is nothing to worry about but dropping an email to the person mentioned on the bottom of the page may not be a bad idea.


------------------
mjc
Computer Links (http://www.dreamwater.org/tech/mjc/index.htm)

Celts are the men that heaven made mad, For all their battles are merry and their songs are all sad.

beginner33
06-02-2002, 11:10 AM
THANKS so much mjc!!!

I am so relieved to hear it's nothing bad http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif
I'll let the web master know.

beginner33~~ http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/tongue.gif

mjc
06-02-2002, 01:42 PM
I already did, but a couple more letting him know couldn't hurt any.......

------------------
mjc
Computer Links (http://www.dreamwater.org/tech/mjc/index.htm)

Celts are the men that heaven made mad, For all their battles are merry and their songs are all sad.