PDA

View Full Version : dual p3-500 board?



der King Mongo
08-29-2000, 07:16 PM
I am seeking a motherboard which would accomodate two p3-500 cpus; I'm planning to run Win2K on this system. Any recommendations?

If you DO have recommendations, please tell me a bit about the form factor--I don't know much about dual-cpu boards. Would I need a new case? I'm currently using a full-size ATX tower.

Oh, another question. What temperature is optimum for a p3-500? My BIOS temp meter reports something like 145 F, which seems a bit high to me. I stuck an extra case fan in there and get good airflow, so I'm not sure what else I should do, if anything.

Charles Kozierok
08-30-2000, 11:10 AM
Hello Your Highness, http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

I don't have specific recommendations for a board. I'd recommend checking somewhere like Anandtech (http://www.anandtech.com).

As for form factor: you should be able to find a board in full-ATX that will fit your tower without any problem. Make sure your power supply is decent and not overloaded.

Incidentally, why dual 500s? You might be better off with a single faster CPU. Would certainly be cheaper...

Not sure about temperature range, but that seems pretty warm. Do you have a decent CPU fan properly attached?

See this page for more on selecting motherboards: http://www.PCGuide.com/buy/des/comp_Mobo.htm


------------------
Charles M. Kozierok ( ixlubb@PCGuide.com )
Webslave, The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
Comprehensive PC Reference, Troubleshooting, Optimization and Buyer's Guides...

der King Mongo
08-31-2000, 12:47 PM
Oh, well, I already have the second cpu, so, barring incident, this should be a simple matter of getting a new motherboard and then moving everybody over.

Oh yeah, they're both Slot 1 chips, which might make things harder...

And regarding the temperature, I was obviously tired or something...I checked again and it read 107 F. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

RPB1
06-30-2003, 06:20 PM
there is not much point in building a dual as one is not actually doing anythink unless pc crashes the other one then kicks in besides the cost is not worth it as dual boards are exspensive

Budfred
06-30-2003, 11:22 PM
RPB1,

Check the date on the last entry.... this thread is almost 3 years old...

Rick
07-02-2003, 08:29 PM
Originally posted by RPB1
there is not much point in building a dual as one is not actually doing anythink unless pc crashes the other one then kicks in besides the cost is not worth it as dual boards are exspensive


You have Lost me here ???????????????????????????
The second CPU doesn't do ANYTHING ????????????????

"SMP" Have you Ever heard of that ?