PDA

View Full Version : Memory Upgrade



mshall2000
09-16-2000, 12:45 PM
i have 256 megs of ram in my system but its PC66 and i also have a stick of 128 PC 100 can i mix the two.

Charles Kozierok
09-17-2000, 10:02 AM
If you mean you want to replace one of the PC66 sticks with the PC100, it will probably work, but you won't see any performance improvement.

------------------
Charles M. Kozierok
Webslave, The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
Comprehensive PC Reference, Troubleshooting, Optimization and Buyer's Guides...
Note: Please reply to my forum postings here on the forums. Thanks.

mshall2000
09-17-2000, 10:39 AM
i want to leave the (2) 128 PC66 in there and i want to put the (1) 128 PC100 in there too and i wanted to know if this would work

Charles Kozierok
09-17-2000, 11:04 AM
As long as you have three DIMM slots and the motherboard supports 3*128, you should be OK. Of course all the RAM will run at 66.

------------------
Charles M. Kozierok
Webslave, The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
Comprehensive PC Reference, Troubleshooting, Optimization and Buyer's Guides...
Note: Please reply to my forum postings here on the forums. Thanks.

mshall2000
09-17-2000, 12:01 PM
ok, im gonna turn off my computer now and see if it works, because someone told me that u couldnt mix PC66 and PC 100. thanks for your help.

mshall2000
09-17-2000, 12:29 PM
i put the 128 PC 100 in with the other PC66 and when it booted up it said i had 384 which is correct but when i went to start/control panel/system it said i only had 256 why is that

mshall2000
09-17-2000, 12:36 PM
i went into msconfig and click on advanced and changed the limit memory to 384 and rebooted and went back into system and then it said 384 so everything is fine now, thanks for your help.

mshall2000
09-17-2000, 02:37 PM
by me mixing the two it wont crash my system will it.

Charles Kozierok
09-17-2000, 03:26 PM
If it's working then you should be all set.

------------------
Charles M. Kozierok
Webslave, The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
Comprehensive PC Reference, Troubleshooting, Optimization and Buyer's Guides...
Note: Please reply to my forum postings here on the forums. Thanks.

Paleo Pete
09-24-2000, 09:56 PM
Shouldn't hurt a thing, PC 100 will run fine at 66MHZ, 100MHz is the maximum it will run, not the only speed. As ixl said, as long as it's up and running with no problems you should be good to go. Only thing it's doing is not utilizing its full potential. Plus if you need to later, you can pull it and use it in another machine if you decide to upgrade to one that will use 100MHz.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)