PDA

View Full Version : GCT-8IT & GCT-8IV MB help



Jackna
09-28-2000, 02:02 PM
I have a GCT-8IT and GCT-8IV motherboard. They both have pentium 100MHz cpu's. I would like to upgrade them but I do not have the motherboard manuals. They are both socket 7's. The 8IT has the 430 TX chipset and I'm not sure what the 8IV has. What are the highest cpu's these motherboards will accept and what would the jumper settings be for them.

I have tried to find information on Global Circuit Technology motherboards on the net but have been unsuccessful. It appears that GCT Inc. changed their name to Super Tek. However, all e-mails attempting to contact Super Tek were returned as undeliverable.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Paleo Pete
09-28-2000, 11:46 PM
Hard to tell without ther manual. Someone else posted on this forum recently with a 430TX chipset, and said it would handle up to 233MMX. But to do it you'd have to have the manual, or the jumper settings imprinted onto the motherboard.

I can post a couple of links that might help, maybe you'll get lucky...

Older mobo manuals (http://www.tdnservices.com/manuals.html)

Motherboard Manuals Data and More (http://venus.spaceports.com/~canada/webhq/reload.html)

Hope those help...maybe they'll point you to more links...

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

Jackna
09-29-2000, 03:37 PM
Thanks for the links Pete. I have sent e-mails out and am waiting to see if I get lucky. I appreciate your answering my posting.

bassvax
10-01-2000, 02:08 AM
Well Jackna, you'll probably have better luck with the sites that Pete mentioned...I just searched the www.motherboard.org (http://www.motherboard.org) site and came up with the same info you got about the buy-out. After going to the new owner's site they didn't offer any support for the products mentioned and after searching different boards using the 430 TX chipset I come up with the same range on the processor speed 75-266MHz. A suggestion, if you are adamant about keeping and upgrading those mobo's, check out Evergreen Technologies. I was going to upgrade an old Intel Advanced/MA mobo and got a lot of help from Melissa in customer service/sales...I was thinking of buying the Spectra series which would take me from 133MHz to 350MHz for about $80. The web site is www.evertech.com (http://www.evertech.com) The down side is that she will have to have a great deal of info about the mobo especially BIOS info/date. I hope this helps if the other suggestions don't-Jerry

[This message has been edited by bassvax (edited 10-01-2000).]

Jackna
10-02-2000, 07:11 PM
Thanks, Jerry for the link to evergreen technologies. Lots of information on their site. However, I was able to locate another GCT-8IT motherboard that was already set for a pentium 166 MMX cpu. I wrote all the jumper settings down on paper. The multipier settings are stamped on the board, but I wasn't sure what the voltage settings would be for a MMX cpu. I believe the highest I can go is 233MMX for this board. I appreciate the help.

Jack

Paleo Pete
10-03-2000, 01:05 AM
Wish I had known that sooner, Intel's site has just about all the info on their CPU's you'd need to set one up. Check the number stamped on the back, and look it up and you'll get the voltage requirements, etc. Most MMX CPU's I've dealt with used 2.8 core voltage. Non MMX are 3.5. (Intel anyway...) It's if you still would like to take a look. Kind of hard to navigate, but a bit of looking and you can find it.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

[url="http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/"]Computer Information Links (http://www.intel.com[/URL)

Paleo Pete
10-03-2000, 01:07 AM
Wish I had known that sooner, Intel's site has just about all the info on their CPU's you'd need to set one up. Check the number stamped on the back, and look it up and you'll get the voltage requirements, etc. Most MMX CPU's I've dealt with used 2.8 core voltage. Non MMX are 3.5. (Intel anyway...) It's if you still would like to take a look. Kind of hard to navigate, but a bit of looking and you can find it.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

[url="http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/"]Computer Information Links (http://www.intel.com[/URL)

Jackna
10-03-2000, 10:38 AM
Hey Pete,
I knew that the MMX cpu's voltage was 2.8 but I wasn't sure about the jumper settings going from a pentium 100MHz cpu (3.3 volt) to an MMX 2.8 volt. Thanks

Jack