PDA

View Full Version : ATX power supply confusion



Alan Grey
10-26-2000, 04:53 PM
Hi all,
I need a new power supply, due to my new graphics card being a little greedy...I have an AT case and an AT motherboard, with a 200W power supply. The thing is, I need to add more to my system, like a new processor, RAM, Hdd, but I can't afford to also change my mobo, case etc. Can I use an ATX power supply? My motherboard has connectors for both types of power supply.
Thanks a lot
AG

Paleo Pete
10-26-2000, 09:39 PM
Yep, if the motherboard has connectors for both types of power supplies you can use either one.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

Charles Kozierok
10-28-2000, 11:54 AM
You need to be careful though, because the case could be an issue. AT and ATX systems use different main power switches, and they aren't really exchangeable.
Cases are pretty cheap...

------------------
Charles M. Kozierok
Webslave, The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
Comprehensive PC Reference, Troubleshooting, Optimization and Buyer's Guides...
Note: Please reply to my forum postings here on the forums. Thanks.

Alan Grey
10-28-2000, 03:13 PM
Yes, indeed. Okay, what I may do is get a new ATX case and power supply. I read up on the subject, and many or most ATX cases will hold AT boards. Thanks for the replies.

jangolion
10-30-2000, 03:08 PM
"I need a new power supply, due to my new graphics card being a little greedy"

what kind of card do you have pci, agp and how much video memory is on the card?
what do you mean being greedy? .....is it using alot of memory on your system. what is it taking away from? processor

the reason im asking is because it may not be a power problem but rather a video card problem.....i have the voodoo 3000 agp card and it has 16 mb of memory and its own processor 350mhz 3dfx technology it stand up against most game ive seen it has it own memory so it rearly uses systems memory and uses its own processor which is as fast as my system the card is in a class of its own ...... the best on the market is vodoo 5......

not sure about video cards taking away more power than is needed this is actually a great question can someone correct me if im wrong http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Alan Grey
10-31-2000, 03:37 PM
Well, I have a GeForce 2 32 mb, which uses around 10 watts compared to my old V3 2000's 4 watts (hence comparitively greedy!). It is a very fine balance, just disabling HD DMA has almost solved the problem. I checked to see if my mobo had a dodgy AGP slot, ie one which didn't supply the required voltage, but it's clear.
What do you mean by " it has its own memory"? All video cards have memory to store the frame buffers, textures etc. And about the V5 being the best on the market, that's another thread http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif but the GeForce 2 is far quicker than a V5 and the GeForce 2 Ultra is the fastest on the market.
Thanks for the suggestion,
AG

jangolion
11-01-2000, 10:10 AM
yea your right it is another thread......... Gforce2 ultra vs Voodoo 5 6000 http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

the Librarian
11-02-2000, 07:14 PM
If you're serious about getting a good power supply, check out PC Power and Cooling (http://www.pcpowercooling.com/). It's good stuff. Also, a good rule of thumb is to never use anything less than 300W. Be careful, because most "300W" power supplies are only rated for 235W. Those bastards!

Alan Grey
11-03-2000, 04:53 PM
Thanks for the link, but I'm in the UK, so no luck. Looks as if I'm going to have to go with a plain old 235W AT supply to tide me over http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif . Oh well, I'm getting a new processor soon, which will use less power than mine does now (I'm fairly sure).