PDA

View Full Version : upgrade and get it running

Omei
11-12-2000, 05:30 PM
I'm totally new to this upgrade concept and probably someone has asked this before but I couldn't find an exact answer.
I've been given a 486dx2-66 8MB RAM 425MB HD. I want to run Win98 on this to do word processing and run a basic dos medical program. I know I should add memory, get a larger hard drive and add a cd-rom drive. I've been reading alot but still can't figure out what parts would be compatible with this systems?

bootay
11-12-2000, 05:36 PM
I'd question whether it is worthwhile to spend money on that ancient machine. Sure, you could add RAM (if you could find some that works in it) and have a working Win98 machine, but you are probably better off buying one of the $499 machines (Compaq IPAQ, etc.) that have PIII CPU's, 64MB RAM, nice hard drives, fast video cards, USB ports, and Windows 2000 already ready to go.

Upgrade route:
$50 for CD, assuming the IDE controller supports standard IDE CD roms.
$100 for larger hard drive, but the IDE controller/motherboard are almost assuredly not going to support the full size and you'll have to go through some hassles, albeit minor with recent hard drive manufacturer software included in the box.
$50 for RAM, assuming your can find 30 or 72pin simms anymore (whatever it takes).
$xxx for installation time. None of these tasks is very difficult, but the first time you do anything... Assume $100 charge to get everything installed (assuming it all works and you don't need anything else).

That still leaves you with an old junker of a PC that just cost you $300 to get to a semblance of usability.

Paleo Pete
11-12-2000, 09:25 PM
486 is bare minimum requirement for win98, I think you'd be better off using win95 with it.