PDA

View Full Version : Adding a CD-ROM & HD to 486

jimclake
12-25-2000, 01:37 PM
I am trying to add a CD-ROM and hard drive to an old 486DX2-80 machine. I have 16 bit ISA slots available for the two IDE contoller cards I have (I couldn't easily find a ISA card with two available places for both devices). Is there an easy way of telling if the GMB-486SV (Megastar) motherboard supports a CD-ROM drive? I find no mention of it in the manual nor in the Award v4.50 BIOS.
Will both devices act as "master", with them being on their own channel? (I'm equating a "channel" with controller...is this a correct assumption?).
I'm a newbie at this upgrade business and am starting off with low cost, low end equipment as my learning process gets started!!!
Happy holidays to everyone and thanks!

Reid
12-25-2000, 02:58 PM
I was unable to find that motherboard during a search. Is the "SV" part of the model correct? Nothing comes close when using it in the search string.
Does the board have VLB slots? Look for an extra socket in-line with a 16 bit slot. If it has a VLB I/O board, it should be able to support an IDE drive (up to 540M without boot overlay software).

I used a DTC 2183 (http://www.datatechnology.com/support/guides/2183/2183.shtml) IDE controller to run the CD-ROM.

------------------
reido@my-deja.com

[This message has been edited by Reid (edited 12-25-2000).]

jimclake
12-25-2000, 11:36 PM
Sorry, Reid, I was typing that from memory! It should have read GMB-486SG.
Yes, it has 3 32-bit VLB slots. The existing controller board occupies one of the 16 bit slots. I was simply going to add two 16 bit I/O controller cards I have lying around and go from there.
I'll try it again tomorrow and see what happens.
Thanks.

Paleo Pete
12-26-2000, 07:23 AM