PDA

View Full Version : mother board problem



amateur
10-27-2000, 04:31 PM
i have a problem here . I dunno wat form factor my mobo is .i needed a new mb and i dunno whether my casing allow for AT or ATX form factor . My pc was assembled by a friend and I dun have the manual for my mb and I dunno wat mb i m using or from which company , all i know is i m running a pentium 100MHZ cpu .I do not wish to purchase a new casing as I am tight with the buget . Is there any way to determine the form factor of my mb ?

Jerkymom
10-27-2000, 04:50 PM
Look at the connector from the case power supply to the motherboard. An ATX power supply has a solid one-piece connector and an AT power supply has 2 smaller connectors plugged side by side. You should be able to see the difference.

Kim

Paleo Pete
10-27-2000, 11:48 PM
In addition to the above, the AT board will have the memory slots parallel to the ISA/PCI slots, usually near the keyboard plug, and the ATX will heve the memory slots perpendicular, with the CPU placed closer to the power supply so it is in the path of airflow, for better cooling. Here are a couple of pics:

486AT board: http://www.zing.com/picture/pba851f63c7c08dd40ec2b3d25ad50be1/ff428090.jpg.orig.jpg


ATX board:
http://www.zing.com/picture/p691aba03216ab9f1c3d034c2a51d4f27/ff42808e.jpg.orig.jpg



------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

Jerkymom
10-28-2000, 01:47 AM
Cool pics, Pete!!! http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif I never noticed that with the memory slots before.
Thanks for the lesson!

Kim

amateur
10-28-2000, 04:57 AM
Hmm.... i guess mine is a AT mobo . Is there any way
to fit a ATX mb into my casing ? Coz i really wanted
to get this ASUStek mb :

ASUS P3V4X
support PII/PIII Cumine , Celeron
133 FSB
AGP 4X
UDMA/66
6xPCI,1xISA,1xAGP slots
4xDIMM for up to 2GB PC133/HSDRAM
Chipset : VIA Apollo Pro 133A

I thought its an excellent board just looking at the spec .

otherwise i would have to get ASUS P2B-B ( baby AT ) :

support PII/PIII , celeron
100 FSB
AGP 2X
UDMA/33
3xPCI,2xISA,1xAGP
3xDIMM up to 768MB PC100
Chipset : Intel 440BX 100 AGPset

as u can see ,the latter would not have as much
expansion capability as the first . by the way , my
MPEG card and sound card are using the ISA slots .
If i get the P3V4X board,which only has 1 ISA slot,
can i still use both the cards ?

pls help me with the 2 questions.




[This message has been edited by amateur (edited 10-28-2000).]

Paleo Pete
10-28-2000, 10:00 AM
Whether you can fit an ATX board in the case depends on the case. Some will accept both types, some won't. It depends on the layout of the case. Especially the keyboard plug, since most (I think all) ATX boards also have PS/2 mouse and keyboard plugs, and they're either stacked or side-by-side. That means you can't plug in the cords unless you cut out the hole, which is a pain...

Then, you have to get an ATX power supply, and hope it bolts into the case correctly. The board itself only has to fit the bolt pattern of the case, aside from PS/2 plug concerns.

Then you come to integrated boards...if you get one of those you have to have slots in the case for the plugs.

by the way , my
MPEG card and sound card are using the ISA slots .
If i get the P3V4X board,which only has 1 ISA slot,
can i still use both the cards ?

Nope, ISA cards only fit into ISA slots, period. If you get that board you'll have to replace one of the cards with a PCI card.


------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

Shi
01-24-2001, 07:30 AM
ok now i'm totally confused after the bit about memory slots.
my motherboard has parallel to ISA/PCI slots, AND a single power supply connector.stupid acer mob(douses with gasoline and gets marshmellows ready for toasting) http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif

Paleo Pete
01-24-2001, 08:14 AM
OK, I think you got confused just a bit. The AT motherboard also has a single power supply plug, it's the power supply that has two plugs. They plug into the motherboard side-by-side, but both types of boards only have one power inlet plug.

The ATX power supply will only have one power plug, AT power supply will have two.

------------------
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you!
Note: Please post your questions on the forums, not in my email.

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

Shi
01-24-2001, 08:58 AM
heheh...now i feel stupid....took it all the way apart and found out that you're right.....its 2 6-pin plugs...thanks for clarifying that for me