PDA

View Full Version : Damaged HD? According to OnTrack Drive Recovery



manny1975
01-02-2007, 05:20 PM
Hi guys, I finally figured out why my slave drive was not being detected on my Disk Management and only on my Device Manager. It seems as though after running OnTrack Drive Recovery it's saying that the HD has physical damage, which I still dont believe but im guessing that's what it is. I tried to recover ANY files from it but but it will not let me since it says it needs to be looked at by a specialist or some crap like that. Anywyas I dont want to take it to them because I dont have the $$ to do that. Any suggestions as to how i can save my pictures from this HD? Thats all I really need, I could care less about my MP3's since they are on my IPOD as it is.

Thanks!

classicsoftware
01-02-2007, 07:33 PM
Give GetDataBack (http://www.runtime.org/faq_gdb.htm) a try.

Hagar
01-03-2007, 03:53 AM
PhotoRec is free, good tool for pictures.
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/PhotoRec

manny1975
01-15-2007, 06:08 PM
Well it looks like my HD has damage to it and I wont be able to recover files using these programs....Does anyone know what I can do next? I mean cant I open the HD somehow and take out the disk or whatever is inside of one and put it in a new HD? Or can I send it somewhere so they can do something of the kind to recover my files???

classicsoftware
01-15-2007, 07:53 PM
Did you try GetDataBack?

If you want to use a professional service it will cost a fortune. Let me know I will be able to get you a discount from drive savers...

classicsoftware
01-15-2007, 08:37 PM
Did you try GetDataBack?

If you want to use a professional service it will cost a fortune. Let me know I will be able to get you a discount from drive savers...

Paul Komski
01-15-2007, 09:18 PM
not being detected on my Disk Management and only on my Device ManagerNot good news I'm afraid since that combination implies a problem with physical access to the drive - quite likely caused by a failed PCB since if it is seen in Device Manager it implies the drive is also detected in the BIOS, which itself implies less damage than when a problem drive is not detected at all or one that is so damaged as to cause a system to fail to boot-up at all.

You could try running the maker of the drive's diagnostic utility and see if it confirms that the drive is inaccessible.

manny1975
01-16-2007, 02:43 PM
yea its shot....too many errors on it that it ran completely and nothing cameback from it. I might have to get this thing professionaly looked at....it has all my pictures and daughters home videos. I might have banged it too hard or dropped it while I was building my new pc....how much do you think it will cost me?

manny1975
01-16-2007, 02:44 PM
and yes it can be seen in the bios too btw

classicsoftware
01-16-2007, 03:10 PM
You never said if you tried getdataback?

How large is the drive? It could be a $2,000.00-$3,000.00 dollars

manny1975
01-16-2007, 03:24 PM
I did try getback data and it said it had too many errors on it....holy crap that much??????????????? um, I know pictures are priceless but thats too much price for me...any other CHEAPER services out there?

Paul Komski
01-16-2007, 04:52 PM
Swapping in a PCB can occasionally be successful but it is often very hard to find an exact match or get and install a ROM (firmware) chip. A replacement PCB wont fix internal electromechanical faults and I think it particularly bad when drives make noises when they fail. There might be some ideas on another thread (http://www.pcguide.com/vb/showthread.php?p=327774#post327774). If the drives have to be opened and rebuilt in a dust-free environment it gets very costly.