PDA

View Full Version : harddrive setting



dafink
01-22-2007, 08:47 AM
My pc's back in working order thanks to the fine folks here...but it's being recognized as a slave drive instead of a master.

I have the jumper pin on the master setting, which if you were looking directly at the hd would be the farthest one on the right according to the diagram (next to the power cable)

It's a Seagate hd.

How do I set it back up as the master so I can install my other as the slave? Thanks

Hagar
01-22-2007, 10:23 AM
Seagate jumper settings: http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.jsp?locale=en-US&name=ATA_Jumper_Settings&vgnextoid=cbc974850ce0e010VgnVCM100000dd04090aRCRD

Rick
01-22-2007, 01:30 PM
It sounds Like you are looking at the bios
And it is showing it as the second drive ( slave)
You need to remove the drive cable connector from the drive.
Then reconnect the end connector to the master and place the jumper in the correct locations
And use the center connector for the slave

Just like in the link above near the bottom of the page