PDA

View Full Version : rebuild option

wombil
03-18-2007, 10:39 PM
Hello All,Sylvander has advised using the
noreformat,nondestructive total rebuild option to revitalise win.XP
I have followed the directions for making the slipstreamed XP disk and all goes well until step nine;
Run--c:\xpsp2\i386\update\update.exe/s:c:\xpsp2\root
I have also tried substituting 1386 for i386 but I get this message,
c:\xpsp2\i386\update\update.exe/s:c:\xpsp2\root is not accessible.
The filename,directory name or volumelabel syntax is incorrect.
Any clues as to where I'm going wrong here?

The good part is that I already have SP2 installed on the computer so I should be able to use the rebuild option with the standard xp home disk that I have.Is this correct?
Thanks Guys,
Wombil.

Sylvander
03-19-2007, 05:01 AM
I'm no expert on this, but it looks like you missed a space, so you seem [to the program] to be specifying that the whole thing is a file location, which makes no sense.

Perhaps it should be...

c:\xpsp2\i386\update\update.exe /s:c:\xpsp2\root

Ater you running update.exe from C: rather than the optical drive?
Hence c:\xpsp2\i386\update\update.exe

Paul Komski
03-19-2007, 08:44 AM
There should be a space but you can also use the integrate switch or to make life really simple use the autostreamer application (http://www.iol.ie/~krakowangus/bootupwininstall.htm).

so I should be able to use the rebuild option with the standard xp home disk
You can use the rebuild option with the latest SP (or none at all) but the eventual installation will depend on what was on the installation CD and not what was previously installed on the hard drive. If you had SP2 and the CD has no SPs the resulant wont have any SPs, which is one of the reasons for going the slipstreaming route.

wombil
03-19-2007, 07:13 PM
Thanks for the tips fellers,
Yes there could be a space after the"exe". hard to see in the instructions in Langa's Letter.Does the space break this sequence into two separate ones?