PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading CPU in XP Pro: What Can I Expect?



Stoney
03-20-2007, 06:35 PM
I will be upgrading from my single core 3200+ to ab X2 3800+ Manchester. My question is will XP Pro handle this upgrade fine or will it to its Genuine Notification Windows License warning.

In other words, will XP not recognize this hardware change and thus claim my OS as not legitimate? Or is it as easy as removing the old and putting in the new? Thanks.

jlreich
03-20-2007, 07:04 PM
You shouldn't have any problems with needing to reactivate or anything. One thing you will want to do is install the "MS dual core patch", and the "AMD dual core optimizer".

Windows will find the new CPU and install it when you first boot. Just reboot and you will be fine. It has to do this because it needs to use a different HAL for a multi-processor.

If you google the dual core patches you will find many tutorials on how to apply them properly.

Stoney
03-20-2007, 07:32 PM
jlreich, much, much thanks on the heads up on those two patches. Since I never had a dual core before I didn't realize they were needed.