PDA

View Full Version : 2nd OS of Dual Boot XP will not boot after cloning c partition



Rezzen
04-03-2007, 05:36 AM
I think I have a complex one here. :confused:

I have successfully cloned my primary c partition of a dual boot system with XP Pro on the 1st primary partition c: and XP Pro on the 2nd primary partition as d: I can boot into my XP on the c: drive with no problem, but when I attempt to boot into my XP on the D drive it hangs on the blue screen right before booting into the user profiles. And believe it or not it continuously loops making the windows startup sound and the shutdown sound. It does the same in safe mode.
I will try to explain the process on what I did so it can help you experts figure out this dilemma that I'm having.

My old drive an IDE 100GB IBM primary drive was partitioned into 3 parts:
c: 30GB FAT32 primary
d: 30GB FAT32 "
e: 30gb FAT32 "

All ran great in XP's on c: ,D: and :e except that i was running out of room in all the partitions and the drive is getting very old , I think (5yrs).

I used XXClone Pro v.0.58.0 to clone my old c: and d: partitions to a WD IDE 160GB. I tried many other cloning proggys like Acronis True Image, Drive Clone, Paragon Drive Copy, Drive Image 2002, HDClone 3.1 Pro but they all either changed my new drive NTFS file system to FAT32 or made exact same size copies. I formatted and partitioned my new drive as follows:
New Drive - 160GB WD IDE
c: 75GB NTFS primary "set as active"
d: 75GB NTFS primary
I don't care about old e: partition.

After cloning c: and d: from my old drive I unplugged the old drive from the primary master ribbon and plugged in the new drive. booted in to XP Pro on c: drive. Went into Disk Mangmt and noticed that there was no D: drive.The D: drive stayed as the f: drive from when I was cloning my old D: to the NEW WD F: drive which is suppose to be the d: drive now. So, i assigned it d:
Than went into the boot.INI file and added the the Dual boot lines because it appeared that it didn't copy the boot.ini file from my old IBM c: drive. So I changed the old boot.ini to the new one, here are the examples.

old Boot.ini file

[Boot Loader]
Timeout=10
Default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S

[Operating Systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="XXCLONE: (Cloned Volume) [d:0,p:1] \WINDOWS" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

New Boot.ini file

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="MS Windows XP Pro Gaming System" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(2)partition(2)\WINDOWS="MS Windows XP Pro NTFS on SATA" /fastdetect


Tried to boot into d: drive with no luck. Hangs on blue screen while playing continuous windows startup and shutdown sounds.

Thnx for your help and time, Rezzen

Paul Komski
04-03-2007, 08:04 AM
Try rdisk(1) unless you have a third hard drive in the system.

If that doesn't work run bootcfg /rebuild from the installation CD's recovery console to rebuild the boot.ini file in whatever way the OS decides is best.

BiNG and Partition Magic and Qparted are far superior partition cloners IMHO - or use the Hard Drive Makers own utility. Otherwise consider using an imaging program to make images and then restore from the image files.

PS Those reboot loops are commonly due to boot.ini being somehow incorrect or the partition boot sector being innapropriate (which is on the cards if there was a move from ntfs to fat). The fix for the latter is fixboot from the Recovery Console.

If XXClone Pro is like XXCopy then the resultant partition is not a clone it is a copy of all the files. A clone copies sector by sector and not file by file.

Rezzen
04-06-2007, 01:15 PM
i did try the bootcfg /rebuild from the recovery console and it added the following lines to my boot.inin file:

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="4"
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="1"


It still booted me to the same spot with the same results. I am going to try the fixboot next. And if that doesn't work I'll reclone the drives with a different cloning software, any suggestions on software.
Some of the software I listed does not allow me to do what I want. Or i just don't know how to use them. :) I want to be able to clone partition 1 (30GB) & 2 (30GB) both FAT32 out of 3 partitions onto a bigger HD split into 2 NTFS 75GB partitions.

Paul Komski
04-06-2007, 02:06 PM
I want to be able to clone partition 1 (30GB) & 2 (30GB) both FAT32 out of 3 partitions onto a bigger HD split into 2 NTFS 75GB partitions.

You can use BiNG (in my sig) or the other aforementoined utilities to first copy the partitions to another location and then to resize them. If you want to convert them from FAT to NTFS (before or after you copy/clone) them then this is done from a command prompt using convert.exe (http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winxppro/maintain/convertfat.mspx)

An alternative methodology is to use BiNG or ImageForDOS to make an image file of the relevant partition first onto another medium (a DVD or a USB drive for example) and then use that image file to restore the cloned image to the same or another location.