PDA

View Full Version : Double OS Vista & XP. Possible?

DarkyDucky
04-09-2007, 12:55 PM
Hi. I'm using a Sony notebook model Vgn-Fe45G. It currently has Vista Home Premium as the OS. Sadly enough, my school requires notebooks to be in XP. A couple of my friends with Sony notebooks already went to get their notebooks certified(As in downgrading into XP from Vista) in school. They lost their sound from their notebook and I'm reluctant to lose the sound as well =/. Is it possible to install XP and Vista in my notebook? I looked through some websites and only found the Double OS procedures 2000 and XP etc. If I'm able to, can you please teach me how? I'm a PC newbie :(

Paul Komski
04-09-2007, 07:49 PM
There are a number of options. It is possible to partition your hard drive and have a dual boot situation but care is needed - particularly on a laptop which is likely to already have hidden partitions on it - and particularly when vista has already been installed. You could also get a second hard drive and swap it into the PC, install WinXP onto it and interchange the drives as needed. Both these options would require that you have all the WinXP drivers available to you.

You could also install MS Virtual PC 2007 (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/virtualpc/default.mspx) and then install WinXP onto the virtual PC running in Vista.

DarkyDucky
04-10-2007, 06:18 AM
Soo.. how do I exactly use the MS virtual PC? I havent got the disks of the XP and such, need to go to school to install the softwares.

Uhh new problem. >.> From the website,"Virtual PC 2007 runs on: Windows Vista™ Business; Windows Vista™ Enterprise; Windows Vista™ Ultimate; Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition; Windows Server 2003, Standard x64 Edition; Windows XP Professional; Windows XP Professional x64 Edition; or Windows XP Tablet PC Edition" but i'm running on home premium. =/

Paul Komski
04-10-2007, 06:45 AM